DA (Daniel Amos) – Darn Floor – Big Bite – 1987

The famous gorilla Koko was trained to speak in sign language on a limited basis, After experiencing an earthquake the gorilla signed the words, “Darn Floor – Big Bite” to describe the incident. The gorilla’s limited expressions and inability to fully communicate the response is compared to man’s inability to express the wonders of God and the way life is lived with its many facets and expressions on one of Daniel Amos’ most constantly impressive albums of the same name. After finally completing the four album tour de force known as the “Alarma Chronicles,” (on four separate labels mind you), the band released its second album for Frontline Records. Now without keyboardist Rob Watson and featuring an increase involvement of the ever impressive Greg Flesch, the album was less atmospheric and surreal and more earthy and rock driven. It is a brilliant, rather accessible and stunning album that would remain one of the least successful projects in the band’s history. (Well, they did use the word “darn” in the title, so what did they expect?) I almost dread reviewing anything Terry Taylor does, especially what is found under the moniker Daniel Amos for fear of fans decrying a lack of understanding on my part as to what the band and Terry were attempting to create. Quite frankly a quick perusing of Daniel Amos websites and chat boards reveal that the only acceptable Christian Music Top 10 would look something like this:

  1. Alarma – Daniel Amos
  2. Horrendous Disc – Daniel Amos
  3. Mr. Beuchner’s dream – Daniel Amos
  4. Outdoor Elvis – The Swirling Eddies
  5. Bibleland – Daniel Amos
  6. A Briefing for the Ascent – Terry Taylor
  7. Shotgun Angel – Daniel Amos
  8. Doppelganger – Daniel Amos
  9. Let’s Spin – The Swirling Eddies
  10. Fearful Symmetry – Daniel Amos

and so on… There is no fan base in Christian music that comes anywhere close to the passion and obsession that accompanies the fans of this amazing band. Myopic and intolerant of dissent, they know more about every little release Taylor and Co. have even been involved with and to speak with any authority on the subject without prior approval and the express written consent of Major League baseball is strictly prohibited. So, walk softly and carry a very approving stick! The other problem is that, quite often, I have no idea what a song may be about. Taylor may be one of the best read songwriters in CCM (or anywhere for that matter) and his references to obscure writers and events can leave a puzzled look on many a face. That’s not a Taylor problem, but rather a listener problem; but it also can cause some severe confusion on the listener’s part. But despite the limited success of the album and it, sometimes, obscure content, it remains one of the best of the band’s career and has a cool freshness even as I listen over and over to it in writing this review.

Contributor David Lowman – https://ccms500bestalbums.wordpress.com/

1 – Return Of The Beat Menace – 2:56
2 – Strange Animals – 3:11
3 – Darn Floor – Big Bite – 4:22
4 – Earth Household – 3:49
5 – Safety Net – 3:28
6 – Pictures Of The Gone World – 2:47
7 – Divine Instant – 3:51
8 – Half Light, Epoch, And Phase – 4:15
9 – The Unattainable Earth – 3:42
10 – The Shape Of Air – 3:25

Backing Vocals – Gene Eugene (tracks: B5), Jeff Crandall (tracks: B5), Maria Chandler (tracks: B5), Mike Stand (tracks: B5), Ric Alba (tracks: B5), Riki Michele (tracks: B5)
Bass, Backing Vocals – Tim Chandler
Co-producer – DA
Drums, Percussion, Backing Vocals – Ed McTaggart
Engineer – Doug Doyle
Lead Guitar, Panpipes [Pan Flute], Concertina [Squeeze Box] – Greg Flesch
Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Guitar – Terry Taylor
Lyrics By – Terry Taylor
Music By – Greg Flesch, Terry Taylor, Tim Chandler
Percussion – Alex MacDougall
Producer – Terry Taylor

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Frontline Records
Copyright (c) – Frontline Records
Distributed By – The Benson Company, Inc.
Recorded At – 3-D Studios, Costa Mesa CA.
Mixed At – 3-D Studios, Costa Mesa CA.
Published By – Broken Songs
Glass Mastered At – Nimbus, Virginia

Dion – I Put Away My Idols – 1983

The teen heart throb of the 50’s and 60’s becomes a troubadour for the Gospel by the 70’s and 80’s. Dion Dimucci (Dion) was a solo artist and member of Dion and the Belmonts in the early years of rock and roll and remained a chart topper for years. Ironically his two biggest hits, Runaround Sue and The Wanderer, were both about philanderers, one a woman and one a man. But right before the dawn of the 1980’s Dion had a spiritual awakening and began a lengthy career is Christian music. He released several successful albums for Dayspring Record with “I Put Away My Idols” being the most successful and most artistically satisfying. The style is closer to Dion’s 70’s folk rock style with limited 50’s rock and roll except in a novelty form. The content is very evangelical, yet never too trite or contrived. The title track is the closest to a “testimony” song as anything he recorded in CCM. “Trust in the Lord” and “Very Soon” have a very “island” sound (I wouldn’t call it reggae) similar to direction Steven Soles took but more Jimmy Buffet than Bob Marley. Most of the album is very “Scriptural” using direct Biblical references to support the message of the songs.

Contributor David Lowman – https://ccms500bestalbums.wordpress.com/

1 – Here Is My Servant – 3:37
2 – Trust In The Lord – 2:59
3 – Day Of The Lord – 4:02
4 – I Put Away My Idols – 3:08
5 – Daddy – 5:00
6 – Very Soon – 4:08
7 – They Won’t Tell You – 3:38
8 – Healing – 5:14
9 – Give It Up And Surrender – 3:09
10 – My Prayer For You – 2:53

Acoustic Guitar – Dion DiMucci
Alto Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone – Neal Bousanti
Arranged By – Dion
Arranged By [Strings], Conductor [Strings], Electric Piano [Rhodes], Piano, Organ, Harp – Paul Harris
Backing Vocals – Chuck Kirkpatrick, John Sambataro, Kitty Woodson, Pamela Sessody
Bass – Phil Chen
Congas – Walter Santos
Cover, Layout, Design – Jeffery Fey
Drums, Percussion – Joe Galdo
Engineer – Eric Schilling
Engineer [Assistant] – Jim Sessody
Layout [Inner Sleeve] – Dennis Hill
Lead Guitar, Rhythm Guitar, Acoustic Guitar – George Terry
Management – Zachary Glickman
Mastered By – Bob Ludwig
Photography By – Aaron Rapoport
Producer – Dion DiMucci, Eric Schilling, Paul Harris
Synthesizer – Tim Devine
Written-By – Bob Smith (tracks: A5-B4)

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Word, Inc.
Produced For – Salt Productions, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Word, Inc.
Recorded At – Criteria Recording Studios
Mixed At – Criteria Recording Studios
Mastered At – Masterdisk
Pressed By – Monarch Record Mfg. Co.
Designed At – Art Hotel
Published By – County Line Music
Published By – Skinny Zach Music
Published By – Brotherly Love Productions
Published By – Gold Mine Music Inc.
Published By – Word Well Music
Published By – Word Music