Renaissance – Never Have To Run – 1984

When I was handed this album it came with a warning. So with great trepidation I started to listen to it. It has one of those annoying 30 second instrumental opening tracks (I’ve always hated that). First real track, ok, good keyboards, nice guitar riffs, decent vocals then there was the lyrics. Let’s just say this album is lyrically challenged. Now I want to be clear, the music is good, the vocals are good and the ideas for the songs are actually good. I think they just needed to have some help on the lyrics as they are a little simplistic. That said I really like some of the ideas they had with the songs and I’ll admit after listening to the album 3 or 4 times it actually grew on me. The production quality is actually pretty good for what appears to be a self produced album. The cover is a little confusing as it shows a cute girl but there is no girl in the band. Cute girl on the cover are you out there? The band themselves were from Ohio and I can’t find any info on them. So I suggest listening to the album but don’t expect anything spectacular. It’s just a simple fun album.

1 – Scenes – 0:42
2 – Preacher Man – 3:33
3 – Our Own Way – 4:10
4 – Life – 4:38
5 – Lonely People – 3:03
6 – Games – 2:54
7 – Just Passin’ Thru – 2:36
8 – Blues – 3:29
9 – Allright By Me – 4:18
10 – Live For Him – 5:37

Chris Liechty – Drums
Ken Richer – Lead & Backup Vocals, Keyboards
Gareth Miller – Guitar
Lane Roth – Bass, Backup Vocals
Walt Guy – Producer
Renaissance – Producer

Please follow and like us:

Author: Ray Mansfield

One of the founding cowboys of Real 80s CCM. Been listening to this stuff since 1978.

2 thoughts on “Renaissance – Never Have To Run – 1984”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *