Steve Camp – After God’s Own Heart – 1987

Steve’s 9th album was perhaps one of his most successful. Of course in the Christian music market successful and good are two different things. Steve turned it way down for this album. It is much more easy listening and in my opinion it is just boring. The quality of the music is really good as usual from Camp but there’s just no real Rock & Roll here. That said the album was wildly successful with 3 top 10 singles, “Whatever You Ask” #1, “Come To The Lord” #5, and “After God’s Own Heart” #3. “The Church Is All Of You” also made it to #37. Not too shabby I agree. The album also had Steve’s version of “Revive Us, O Lord”, which he co-wrote with Carman. Carman released his version of the song on his 1985 album, “The Champion” which made it to #2 on the charts. The CD release had an absolutely horrible bonus track “Hopeless Sinners, Helpless Saints”. Sorry if you liked it but I couldn’t stand it. Based on the charts this was a wildly successful album I agree but I just wish there was a little more Rock & Roll.

1 – Come To The Lord – 3:22
2 – The Church Is All Of You – 5:31
3 – Whatever You Ask – 4:07
4 – Who Knows – 4:12
5 – When I Survey The Wondrous Cross – 5:27
6 – Nothing To Prove – 4:38
7 – After God’s Own Heart – 5:16
8 – If It Wasn’t For The Grace Of God – 4:37
9 – Revive Us, O Lord – 5:12
10 – Till These Earthly Days Shall End – 4:02

CD Bonus Track
11 – Hopeless Sinners, Helpless Saints – 5:12

Alto Saxophone – Alan Palmer
Backing Vocals – Bob Bennett, Bob Carlisle, Bridgette Evans, Kim Maxfield, Margaret Becker, Mark Williamson, Michele Pillar, Pete Carlson, Steve Camp, Steve Lively, Tamara Champlin, Tommy Funderburk
Baritone Saxophone – Mark Watters
Bass – Joe Chemey (tracks: B4), Leland Sklar (tracks: A1, A2, A3, A4, A5, B1, B2, B3, B5)
Drum Machine [SP12 Drum Machine], Programmed By [Synth Programming] – Steve Camp
Drums, Percussion, Drum Programming – John Robinson
Engineer [Assistant Engineer] – Bart Stevens, Joe Schiff, Koji Egawa, Larry Mah, Wade Jaynes
Guitar – Dann Huff
Keyboards, Organ [Hammond B3 Organ], Conductor [Brass Section Conducted By] – John Rosasco
Keyboards, Programmed By [Synth Programming] – Allen Pasqua, Smitty Price
Mastered By – Mike Reese
Mixed By – Bill Schnee
Producer, Arranged By – Steve Camp
Producer, Arranged By, Orchestrated By – John Rosasco
Production Manager [Production Coordinator] – Tammy Allcock
Recorded By – David Schober, Gabe Veltri, Terry Christian
Soloist [Guitar] – Dann Huff (tracks: A3)
Soloist [Hammond B3 Organ] – John Rosasco (tracks: A3)
Soloist [Piano Solo] – Allen Pasqua (tracks: A4), John Rosasco (tracks: A5)
Soloist [Tenor Saxophone] – Alan Palmer (tracks: A2), Brandon Fields (tracks: A3)
Technician [Music Preperation] – Bill Francis
Tenor Saxophone – Jon Clarke
Trumpet – Dan Fernero, John Fumo

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – The Sparrow Corporation
Copyright (c) – The Sparrow Corporation
Recorded At – Ocean Way Recording
Recorded At – Mad Hatter Studios
Recorded At – Bill Schnee Studios
Mixed At – Bill Schnee Studios
Mastered At – The Mastering Lab

Please follow and like us:

Author: Ray Mansfield

One of the founding cowboys of Real 80s CCM. Been listening to this stuff since 1978.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *