David Payton – I Got Wise – 1991

After Mylon LeFevre & Broken Heart called it quits most of the band seemed to disappear. Guitarist David Payton however did release one solo album. It looks like this was a from scratch project as not one of his previous bandmates seemed to be involved. The album is a little scattered with pop, rock, blues, and even a country oriented song. Annoyingly all of these styles are very well done and I think David could have done a whole album in any of these styles. Unfortunately because of all the differing styles the album really doesn’t flow which is an absolute pity because there is some real talent here. Anyway this was all we got from David but it’s well worth listening to, I for one would have liked to hear some more from him.

1 – He Can – 3:36
2 – I Got Wise – 3:41
3 – Preacherman – 3:21
4 – Oh Where Is The Love – 3:52
5 – Where Do I Go From Here – 4:48
6 – For All That You’ve Done – 3:26
7 – Heaven Is Where I’ll Go – 2:58
8 – Great To Be Alive (Feeling) – 4:14
9 – Gospel Light – 4:40
10 – Fire And Brimstone Blues – 5:12

Please follow and like us:

Author: Ray Mansfield

One of the founding cowboys of Real 80s CCM. Been listening to this stuff since 1978.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *