Common Bond – Anger Into Passion – 1987

One of the many amazing bands to come out of the Orange County Christian Music scene and the spearheading label, Frontline Records, Common Bond was unfortunately much overlooked. They released two nationally recognized releases and the much sought after “White Album,” and independent project I still own. In fact, the white album will rank much higher as it remains quite possible the finest independent releases of that time period. A trio that consisted of three amazing musicians; Kenny Samuels (bass, vocals), Steve Durham (guitars) and Chuck Cummings (drums). Cummings was later replaced by the amazing Terl Bryant. And an unheralded part of this project is producer Doug Doyle. His studio cranked out many great Frontline albums and the industry is indebted to his vision and greatness in the studio. The first project “Heaven is Calling” hinted at what was to follow in “Anger Into Passion,” an amazing record that would unfortunately be the last. The style is difficult to pin down with Samuel’s higher pitched voice that is reminiscent of Ian Cussick, Geddy Lee (without all the annoying whining) and former Love Song drummer John Mehler. Musically it falls into the world of later Police and the more progressive and smart alternative music of the late 80’s. The title track kicks off the album with a sound reminiscent of something from Vector’s “Mannequin Virtue.” Great groove and atmospheric like vocals that draw you into a more passionate chorus. My favorite cut is the following track, “In My Youth.” Another track comparable to the Vector sound is “Smile and a Tear.” The song builds and builds and ultimately driven by the drumming of Chuck Cummings. In fact, the drumming is so strong throughout. Lyrically very smart and creative. Musically astute. There is a rare combination. One special note of interest, the album contains a very cool cover Daniel Amos’ “Wall of Doubt.”

Contributor David Lowman –

1 – Anger Into Passion – 4:12
2 – In My Youth – 3:28
3 – The Great Divide – 3:18
4 – Smile And A Tear – 3:26
5 – See The World – 4:25
6 – Tarry – 3:41
7 – Free From Me – 3:33
8 – Face To Face – 3:42
9 – Walls Of Doubt – 2:24
10 – The Promise – 4:06

Art Direction, Layout – Ed McTaggart
Backing Vocals – Bobbi White, Maxayne Moriguchi, Walter S. Harrah
Backing Vocals, Written-By – Terry Taylor
Bass, Lead Vocals – Ken Samuels
Design Concept [Cover Concept], Music By – Common Bond
Drums, Percussion – Chuck Cummings
Graphics [Photographics] – Ken Baley
Guitar – Steve Durham
Illustration [Cover Stamp Illustration] – John Fraze
Lyrics By – Ken Samuels
Mastered By – John Matousek
Photography By – Linda Dillon Baley
Producer, Engineer, Keyboards [Supplemental Keyboards] – Doug Doyle

Companies, etc.
Copyright © – Frontline Records
Phonographic Copyright ℗ – Frontline Records
Published By – Broken Songs
Published By – Paragon Music Corp.
Recorded At – 3-D Studios, Costa Mesa CA.
Mixed At – 3-D Studios, Costa Mesa CA.
Mastered At – Hitsville
Licensed To – Kingsway Publications Ltd.
Distributed By – Nye Toner / Teovision, kingsway Publications Ltd.,Finngospel,Sephora Diffusion,La Sorgente Music,GMI Records,Jata,Master Music,Master-Vision-S.A.,Viva Music,Kir Music,Kingsway Music,Premier Music

Common Bond – Common Bond – 1983

Common Bond was another Rob Watson project. This release was a “Demo” but I hesitate to call it a Demo because it is so well produced most consider it a stand alone album. This is one of the more commonly requested albums here at Real 80s CCM and I believe that is in part to its scarcity. I quite enjoyed the album but I did find it odd that it had so many short songs. Of course the upside to this is that you got more songs (15). All in all a great album with as sound that epitomizes the 80s.

1 – Common Bond – 2:30
2 – Heartbeat Away – 3:40
3 – It Don’t Come Easy – 2:16
4 – Secret Agent Christian – 2:40
5 – Remind Me Of Your Plans – 3:18
6 – Is Your Heart Right – 2:30
7 – Is He Lord – 3:50
8 – Your Life – 3:37
9 – The Party’s Over – 2:33
10 – New Beginnings – 2:45
11 – Christ The Cornerstone – 2:40
12 – Late for Life – 2:48
13 – Song For My Wife – 3:15
14 – For You – 2:00
15 – No Mercenary – 1:32

Ken Samuels: Bass guitar and lead vocals
Doug Doyle: Guitars and backup vocals
Rob Watson: Keyboards
Drums by Oberheim DMX drum machine except Is He Lord and Song For My Wife by Terry McNabb and Danny Ybarra.

Common Bond – Heaven Is Calling – 1986

This was the first studio album from Common Bond though there was a highly produced Demo and an EP previous.

Guest appearances on this album included Jerry Chamberlain from Daniel Amos/The Swirling Eddies and Terry Taylor also from Daniel Amos/The Swirling Eddies and Lost Dogs.

The album is a well produced (Doug Doyle) album with a heavy New Wave sound. This is another lost album from the 80’s that should have been far better known.

Track Listing:
1 – Matter Of Time – 4:37
2 – I’m In Control – 2:45
3 – Heaven Is Calling – 2:51
4 – Bittersweet – 3:48
5 – Yshua – 3:05
6 – My Direction – 3:50
7 – Savor My Saviour – 2:40
8 – The Dickens – 3:50
9 – For You – 2:30
10 – Imagining – 3:20

Acoustic Guitar – Steve Durham
Backing Vocals – Bruce Swift, Jerry Chamberlain, Ken Samuels, Rob Watson, Terry Taylor
Bass Guitar – Ken Samuels
Cover – Terl Bryant
Design – Ed McTaggart
Drums – Chuck Cummings, Terl Bryant (tracks: A1)
Electric Guitar – Steve Durham
Engineer – Doug Doyle
Guitar – Bobby Salsedo, Doug Doyle
Guitar [Solo] – Jerry Chamberlain (tracks: A4, B5)
Layout – Ed McTaggart
Lead Vocals – Ken Samuels
Percussion – Chuck Cummings, Terl Bryant (tracks: A1, A5)
Photography By – Craig Incardone
Producer – Doug Doyle
Written-By – Ken Samuels