Joshua – Surrender – 1985

Joshua Perahia is back for his second album with a new lineup for Joshua including new vocalist Jeff Fenholt. The album was initially released in 1985 and did well in Europe but was little known in North America. It was reissued in 1992 completely rerecorded except for the vocals. Does that even count as a reissue? Joshua also added a new track, “Show Me the Way”, with vocals by Robyn Kyle Basauri. Robyn’s vocals were also added to “Loveshock” which was originally performed by Ken Tamplin. The recording we offer here is that 1992 reissue. I have not been able to find a copy of the original album so I’m unable to contrast it for you but I understand that this version is much much better. The album has been reissued over the years utilizing the 1992 version. Of interest on the album is a cover of The Yardbirds “Heart Full Of Soul”. It’s an interesting rework but I can’t say it better or worse than the original as the 2 styles are too far apart to compare. I know some people were looking forward to this one and were proud to have it.

1 – Surrender Love – 4:32
2 – Heart Full Of Soul – 4:33
3 – Your Love Is Gone – 4:19
4 – Stay Alive – 4:44
5 – Rockin’ The World – 4:42
6 – Back To The Rock – 3:36
7 – Hold On – 4:06
8 – Show Me The Way – 4:24
9 – Loveshock – 5:10
10 – Rockin’ The World (Reprise) – 0:51

Artwork – Noah Elias
Backing Vocals – Bryan Fleming, Eric Tuttobene, Jeff Fenholt, Joshua Perahia, Ken Price, Robin Kyle
Bass – Loren Robinson
Co-producer – Charles Gates
Drums – Craig Ostbo, Joe Galletta, Joe Tafoya
Engineer [Engineered By], Mixed By – John Sarappo
Guitar, Bass – Joshua Perahia
Keyboards – Patrick Bradley
Photography By – Andrew Watrous
Producer – Joshua Perahia
Vocals – Jeff Fenholt, Robin Kyle

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Ocean Records
Copyright (c) – Ocean Records
Manufactured By – Word, Inc.
Distributed By – Word, Inc.

Joshua – Intense Defense – 1988

This was the final album from Joshua and it was probably their best. It is reported that the album took a better part of a year to record with a $700,000 budget. Strangely after RCA invested this time and money they actually dropped the band reportedly because they included the phrase “This album is dedicated to the Glory of God” in the liner notes. I have no idea how the album went over but wow is that a dumb reason to drop a band but that’s record companies for you. They do some really stupid things. Unfortunately this silliness probably played a part in the band splitting up. Rob Rock, Greg Shultz, and Emil Lech went on to form the band Driver and Joshua Perahia changed the name of the band to Jaguar. Unfortunately neither band had any commercial success. Back to the album though, it is a very good Hard Rock/Metal album and you can hear the dollars spent in the production and engineering. This album absolutely sounds as good as anything released commercially at the time and it’s a pity it was not better received in North America because it really deserved to be.

1 – Reach Up – 4:43
2 – I’ve Been Waiting – 4:27
3 – Only Yesterday – 3:38
4 – Crying Out For Love – 4:16
5 – Living On The Edge – 4:10
6 – Tearing At My Heart – 3:47
7 – Remembering You – 5:06
8 – Look To The Sky – 4:21
9 – Don’t You Know – 4:09
10 – Stand Alone – 5:02

Arranged By – Frank Mono, Joshua Perahia
Bass – Emil Lech
Cover [Illustration] – Norbert Lösche
Drums – Tim Gehrt
Engineer [Additional Engineering] – Uli Baronowsky
Guitar, Backing Vocals – Joshua Perahia
Keyboards [Programming] – Jimmy Waldo
Keyboards, Backing Vocals – Greg Shultz
Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals – Rob Rock (tracks: 3 to 10)
Mixed By – Pete Woodroffe
Mixed By [Mix Assited By] – Uwe Sabirowsky
Producer, Engineer – Frank Mono
Programmed By – Al Topo, Uwe Sabirowsky
Vocals [Uncredited] – Ken Tamplin (tracks: 1, 2)

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – BMG Ariola Hamburg GmbH
Copyright (c) – BMG Ariola Hamburg GmbH
Produced For – Breeze Music GmbH
Recorded At – Dierks Studios
Mixed At – Dierks Studios
Mastered At – Townhouse 3
Pressed By – Sonopress – C-4181
Published By – Breeze Music GmbH

Joshua – The Hand Is Quicker Than The Eye – 1982

Joshua Paharia formed the band Joshua in 1983. Later the same year he became a Christian and the band suddenly made lyrical changes to reflect this. This is their first album and it’s pretty darn good. It straddles the hinge of Heavy Metal and Hard Rock and does it well. Strangely the album was a huge success in Japan with “November Is Going Away” making it to #1 on some Japan chart. The album was released in 1984 with 2 bonus tracks in Japan. Those bonus tracks were included in subsequent releases of the album through the years and they have also been included here.

1 – Falling Again – 4:19
2 – November Is Going Away – 4:57
3 – Sweet ‘Lil Hurricane – 3:11
4 – A Song For Lisa – 4:20
5 – Let’s Breakaway – 4:47
6 – Broken Dream – 3:01
7 – Flying High – 4:17
8 – Portrait Of A Woman – 4:25

Joshua Perahia – lead, rhythm & acoustic guitars, vocals
Donnie Gougeon – keyboards, backing vocals
Mahlon Hawk – bass guitars, backing vocals
Tony Zaccaglin – drums, percussion
Stephen Fontaine – lead & backing vocals