The Awakening – Into Thy Hands – 1988

I’m going to preface this short review by saying that if you want to read a little bit more about the aftermath of this album you need to read Ian Tanner’s blog on Bandcamp. It is a very well written explanation of the aftermath of the album and how it all went wrong but I will cover a few points of his story here. The album was released in the summer of 1988 and had a great single “Lonely Place” which made it to #25 on the CCM charts with very little support from their album label. In fcat they had so little support that this would end up being their last album. The record label also made no effort to set up a support tour for the band and the band themselves had trouble setting up a tour. The band were not a bunch of 20 year olds who could live on spam and as a result they needed an actual money making tour as they were adults with families and careers. This is such a pity as the album is great and they should have had a successful tour but it was not to be. So instead we are left with a great album and one that probably would have had a few more singles if it had been properly promoted.

1 – Remember Me – 2:30
2 – Don’t Wait For Me – 5:25
3 – Wrestling In The Jungle – 4:21
4 – Thoughtful – 3:50
5 – Again – 4:20
6 – Lonely Place – 4:46
7 – Where Is The Love? – 4:58
8 – Knife Of Life – 3:55
9 – Into Thy Hands – 4:31
10 – Onward – 4:39
11 – Never Say Goodbye – 4:59
12 – Clear Day – 4:16

Art Direction, Design – Bill Brunt Designs
Artwork [Sculpture], Illustration – Tony Novak
Bass, Percussion – Allan Powell
Co-producer – The Awakening
Drums [Ludwig Drums], Percussion, Backing Vocals – Michael Powell
Engineer [Additional Engineering By] – Darren Walters
Engineer [Additional Engineering By], Mixed By – Lloyd (Froid) Walker
Engineer [Engineered By] – Richard Hutt
Engineer [Engineered By], Mixed By – Andrew Horrocks
Executive Producer – Jeff Moseley, Terry Hemmings
Guitar – Andrew Horrocks
Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Keyboards, Programmed By [Computer Programming], Grand Piano – Ian Tanner
Producer [Co-produced By], Mixed By – The Awakening
Producer [Produced By] – Richard J. Hutt
Programmed By [Additional Programming By] – Glenn Koehler, Mike Powell
Programmed By [Keyboard and Computer Programming By] – Ian Tanner
Programmed By [Keyboard and Computer Programming By], Mixed By – Richard J. Hutt

Companies, etc.
Recorded At – Cedartree Recording Studio
Manufactured By – Word, Inc.
Distributed By – Word, Inc.
Phonographic Copyright ℗ – Reunion Records
Copyright © – Reunion Records
Published By – Edward Grant, Inc.
Published By – Topographic Music Ltd.

The Awakening – Sanctified – 1987

The Awakening were a group of lads from southern Ontario Canada. They came together in 84/85 and started doing some recording. In 1986 they set out to record a demo album later entitled “Two Worlds”. It was recorded in 16 tracks which was rare for a demo of that period by some unknown Canadian Christian band. The whole album was produced for $14,000. The boys went out and supported the album playing gigs where and when they could selling the demo album along the way. In early 1987 Reunion Records contacted the band with an interest in signing them. After a successful signing the band recorded two alternative tracks for the album but the other tracks were all just remixed from their demo. I believe that attests to the quality of that demo. This album is the result of all that work and it is an excellent New Wave/Pop album. This is another one I missed in the 80’s which is a pity because it is so good.

1 – You Can’t Hide – 4:06
2 – All You Need To Know – 3:33
3 – My Only Hope – 2:49
4 – Two Worlds – 5:04
5 – Distant Light – 4:09
6 – Turn Them Away – 3:28
7 – Fireside – 5:16
8 – The Only Way – 4:33
9 – The Forest – 5:32

Art Direction, Design – Heather Brown
Bass – Allan Powell
Co-producer – Glenn Koehler
Drums, Vocals – Mike Powell
Engineer – Andrew Horrocks, Lloyd Walker
Executive Producer – Dan Harrell, Jeff Moseley, Michael Blanton
Guitar, Vocals – Andrew Horrocks
Lead Vocals, Keyboards – Ian Tanner
Photography By – Deborah Samuel
Producer, Engineer – Richard J. Hutt