Imperials – Stand By The Power – 1982

Album #29 from the Imperials is a little more uptempo at times than their previous work. I attribute this to producer Bill Schnee stepping in for this album. This was the first album without Russ Taff and instead we got to hear Paul Smith who stepped in to the group starting on this album. The album spawned 3 singles with “Lord Of The Harvest” peaking at #3 with 28 weeks on the charts. “Somebody New” also did well peaking at #9. and “Because Of Who You Are” peaking at just #37. For a change they did not win their usual Dove award for this album being beaten out by Amy Grant’s “Age to Age”.

1 – Stand By The Power – 3:33
2 – Somebody New – 3:52
3 – Part Time Servant – 3:44
4 – This Heart – 4:26
5 – Lord Of The Harvest – 4:37
6 – Under His Reign – 3:26
7 – I Never Get Enough Of Your Love – 4:07
8 – How Can You Live – 3:46
9 – All For The Asking – 3:49
10 – Because Of Who You Are – 3:31

Arranged By [Horns Arranged By] – Bob Wilson (tracks: B4)
Arranged By [Strings Arranged By], Piano, Synthesizer – James Newton Howard
Bass – Nathan East, Neil Stubenhaus
Drums – Carlos Vega, Jeff Porcaro
Engineer [Assisted By] – David Schober, Scott Hendricks, Skip Moon
Engineer [Engineered By], Producer [Produced By] – Bill Schnee
Guitar – Carlos Rios (2), Dann Huff, Hadley Hockensmith, Steve Lukather
Percussion – Lenny Castro
Photography By [Album Back Photo] – Allan Messer
Photography By [Album Front Photo] – Michael Borum
Production Manager [Production Coordinator] – Susan Pyron

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Word, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Word, Inc.
Recorded At – Bill Schnee Studios
Recorded At – Bullet Recording
Mastered At – The Mastering Lab

Please follow and like us:

Author: Ray Mansfield

One of the founding cowboys of Real 80s CCM. Been listening to this stuff since 1978.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *