Randy Matthews – Wish We’d All Been Ready – 1971

In 1971 Randy was the first CCM artist signed to Word records and this album was the result. If you’re used to Randy’s 80’s work this album might surprise you. It isn’t a rock album, it’s not even a seventies rock album. Randy started out as a folk artist so this is a folk album. Randy’s song writing skills shine on this album. He wrote 8 of the 12 tracks on the album. There are 3 cover songs on the album which is strange for a first album. The strangest of those covers was Larry Norman’s “Wish We’d All Been Ready” which even more strangely is the title track. This album even came out before Larry’s album with the song. I would love to hear how this song ended up on Randy’s album never mind being the title track.

1 – Plastic Clown – 4:52
2 – Empty My Soul – 3:48
3 – Refuge – 2:34
4 – Psalm 19 – 2:40
5 – When I Think Of The Cross – 2:03
6 – Here Comes Jesus – 3:10
7 – Children Come Together – 4:28
8 – Sunday Morning – 2:45
9 – Easy Movin’ – 4:20
10 – I Guess That I’ve Changed – 2:57
11 – Wish We’d All Been Ready – 2:08
12 – Hallelujah Brother – 3:02

Arranged By – Rick Powell
Cover – Bill Grine
Producer – Billy Ray Hearn

Love Song – Love Song – 1971

In February 1970 four hippies entered the Calvary Chapel Church in Costa Mesa, California and asked Pastor Chuck Smith if they could perform their music at the Monday Bible Study. That Pastor listened to them perform “Welcome Back” and this is where it started for one of the most important Jesus Music bands of the era. This is considered by many to be one of the most important Jesus Music/CCM albums of the 70’s. It is said they shaped the sound of the mid Seventies. I don’t think I would go quite that far but they were ahead of the curve in the early 70’s. Of course it was the members of Love Song that made the band what it was. The vocals were headed by Chuck Girard who had a long storied CCM career. Also on Vocals was Jay Truax who would go on to be in the The Richie Furay Band. Most of the other members went on to have solo smaller yet notable solo careers.

1 – A Love Song – 1:46
2 – Changes – 1:47
3 – Two Hands – 3:37
4 – Little Country Church – 2:39
5 – Freedom – 3:47
6 – Welcome Back – 4:38
7 – Front Seat, Back Seat – 3:00
8 – Let Us Be One – 3:13
9 – And The Wind Was Low – 3:25
10 – A Brand New Song – 2:33
11 – Feel The Love – 5:08
12 – A Love Song (Reprise) – 0:47

Artwork By [Design] – Kernie Erickson
Bass, Vocals – Jay Truax
Drums – John Raines
Engineer – Stan Ross
Engineer [Remix] – Eirik Wangberg
Guitar, Vocals – Bob Wall, Tom Coomes
Keyboards, Vocals – Chuck Girard
Music By – Chuck Girard, Jesse Johnston
Photography – Rolland Baker

Companies, etc.
Distributed By – Myrrh Records
Published By – Dunamis Music

Randy Stonehill – Born Twice – 1971

This is Randy’s debut record from 1971 or maybe 1973. This copy is marked 1973. He has another release from 1973, “Get Me Out of Hollywood” but this isn’t that one.

Side one is a live recording that sounds a little like a church basement, but also a lot like an old school coffee house performance. The crowd is incredibly courteous, completely silent during the songs and responsive to each one. You can almost picture someone sitting in front of Randy holding a little microphone and a hand held cassette tape recorder. I think it was a higher quality affair than that, but it is this intimate.

Side two is a series of studio songs, several of which would later be recorded in more famous versions by Larry Norman. Some were released with different song titles. Larry produced this album, so it’s a little unclear how the songwriting credits were supposed to work. In particular, the song “Norman’s Kitchen” ended up on Larry’s 1990 album “Home At Last” titled “Sitting In My Kitchen”

This is a rarely heard treat that shows us the early start of Randy Stonehill, who is still going strong with a busy touring schedule over 45 years after recording this.

Track Listing:
1 – I Need You
2 – Hand In The Hand
3 – He’s Got The Whole World
4 – Help Me Lord
5 – Thank You
6 – Never Can Repay
7 – All Right Now
8 – Passing Stranger
9 – I Love You
10 – Christmas Time
11 – Norman’s Kitchen

Producer, Arranged By, Photography By – Larry Norman