First Call – Undivided – 1986 – Full Album

First Call is the term given to a musician or vocalist who are the top of every producer’s list to appear on a project. They are usually paid the highest amount and are known for needing the least amount of studio time to get it right, actually saving the studio money even though they can charge a higher rate. The group first call earned their name. The trio headlined by Marty McCall (Fireworks) were a famed studio trio that appeared on countless albums and earned a record contract. McCall’s experience with Fireworks and Mel Tunney and Bonnie Keen’s studio work made them seasoned veterans without ever performing live together. Undivided is seen as the groups official first album even though the previous year they were the primary force behind one of the finest CCM Christmas albums ever, An Evening in December. The Christmas album, though, also featured other named CCM artists at the time. Undivided starts with a sound similar to what was coming out of Nashville at the time with inspirational balled and medium tempo songs like the title track, which went on to be a huge hit. The group, though, really excelled and separated themselves when they ventured into more jazz and Manhattan Transfer styled compositions. But even in the more common fair their vocals and arrangements, especially on songs like “The Future” put them in a class all by themselves.

Contributor David Lowman –

1 – Messiah – 3:25
2 – Undivided – 4:12
3 – Campmeetin’ Tonight – 3:33
4 – Bless, Ye The Lord – 4:25
5 – God Is Greater – 3:22
6 – One Step At A Time – 2:58
7 – Step Of Faith – 3:12
8 – The Future – 3:08
9 – Snap To It – 2:33
10 – Just As True For You – 4:15

Bass – Craig Nelson, Gary Lunn, Jimmy Lee Sloas, Mike Brignardello
Brass – Chris McDonald, Ernie Collins, John Rommell, Mike Haynes
Drums – Mark Hammond, Paul Leim
Guitar – Gary Burnette, Greg Jennings, James Hollihan, John Darnall, Jon Goin, Mark Baldwin, Tom Hemby
Keyboards – Dick Tunney, Phil Naish
Keyboards, Drum Programming – Keith Thomas
Percussion – Farrell Morris
Percussion [Anatomical] – Terry McMillan
Piano [Acoustic] – David Huntsinger
Saxophone – Dennis Solee, Doug Moffet, Jim Horn
Vocals – Bonnie Keen, Marty McCall, Melodie Tunney

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Word, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Word, Inc.
Manufactured By – Word, Inc.

Please follow and like us:

Author: David Lowman

Owner and writer at CCM's 500 Best Albums Of All Time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *