First Call – Somethin’ Takes Over – 1987

This is the third album from First Call. It features the same lineup as their previous two albums and the magic continued with this combo. The album had 4 top 10 CCM charting singles including “The Reason We Sing” which sat at #1 for 6 weeks. The other three top 10 singles were, O Sifuni Mungu at #9, Back To His Heart at #10, and Lord Of All also at #10. The band actually never thought they would be as popular as they were and in fact when they started they just wanted to put out a Christmas album while still working on their solo careers. This album is a more worship oriented album and while not my style there is no denying that its a great album.

1 – The Comin’ Of The Lord – 3:21
2 – Somethin’ Takes Over – 3:23
3 – The Reason We Sing – 3:33
4 – Billy On The Boulevard – 4:14
5 – Forever In His Care – 4:03
6 – O Sifuni Mungu (All Creatures Of Our God And King) – 5:41
7 – The Look – 4:46
8 – Back To His Heart – 3:05
9 – Double Talk – 4:17
10 – Lord Of All – 4:59

Wayne Berry – Songwriter
George Binkley III – Strings
Mike Brignardello – Bass
Jonathan David Brown – Engineer
Cole Burgess – Contractor, Alto Sax
Paul Butcher – Trumpet
Paul Butcher – Trumpet
J.T. Cantwell – Engineer
John Chisum – Songwriter
John Darnall – Acoustic Guitar
Randall Dennis – Songwriter
Mark Douthit – Soprano & Alto Sax
Connie Ellisor – Strings
First Call – Vocal Arrangements
Carl Gorodetzky – Strings
Barry Green – Trombone
Mark Hammond – Drums, Percussion
Mike Haynes – Trumpet
Tom Hemby – Guitar
Robert Heuer – Horn
JB Baird – Engineer, Mixed
Neal Joseph – Producer
Bonnie Keen – Vocals
Shane Keister – Songwriter
Lee Larrison – Strings
Les Mas – Vocal Percussion
Sam Levine – Alto Sax
David Maddux – Producer, Songwriter, Arrangements, Piano, Keyboards, Drum Programming, Vocals
Ted Madsen – Strings
Asukulu Yunu Makalay – Songwriter
Pam Mark Hall – Songwriter
Rich Mayes – Bass Trombone
Tom McAninch – Horn
Marty McCall – Songwriter, Vocals
Paul McCusker – Songwriter
Chris McDonald – Trombone
Phill McHugh – Songwriter
Jerry McPherson – Guitar
Doug Moffet – Tenor Sax
Dennis Molchan – Strings
Laura Molyneaux – Strings
Farrell Morris – Percussion
Mmunga Mwenebulongo Mulongoy – Songwriter
Nashville String Machine – Strings
Craig Nelson – Acoustic Bass
John David Parker – Mix Assistant
Bill Pearce – Trombone
Brett Perry – Assistant Engineer
Rick Ricker – Horn
John Rommel – Trumpet
Clarke Schleicher – Engineer
Pam Sixfin – Strings
Buddy Skipper – Tenor Sax
Chris Teal – Strings
Keith Thomas – Track Arrangements, Programming, Keyboards
Becky Thurman – Songwriter
Geoff Thurman – Songwriter
Dick Tunney – Songwriter
Melodie Tunney – Songwriter, Vocals
Hank Williams – Mastered

Companies, etc.
Recorded At – The Bennett House
Mixed At – 16th Avenue Sound
Recorded At – The Lawrence Welk “Champagne” Studio, Nashville, TN.
Recorded At – Gold Mine Studio
Recorded At – Audio Media Recorders
Mastered At – Mastermix
Manufactured By – Word, Inc.
Distributed By – Word, Inc.
Phonographic Copyright ℗ – Word, Inc.
Copyright © – Word, Inc.

First Call – Undivided – 1986 – Full Album

First Call is the term given to a musician or vocalist who are the top of every producer’s list to appear on a project. They are usually paid the highest amount and are known for needing the least amount of studio time to get it right, actually saving the studio money even though they can charge a higher rate. The group first call earned their name. The trio headlined by Marty McCall (Fireworks) were a famed studio trio that appeared on countless albums and earned a record contract. McCall’s experience with Fireworks and Mel Tunney and Bonnie Keen’s studio work made them seasoned veterans without ever performing live together. Undivided is seen as the groups official first album even though the previous year they were the primary force behind one of the finest CCM Christmas albums ever, An Evening in December. The Christmas album, though, also featured other named CCM artists at the time. Undivided starts with a sound similar to what was coming out of Nashville at the time with inspirational balled and medium tempo songs like the title track, which went on to be a huge hit. The group, though, really excelled and separated themselves when they ventured into more jazz and Manhattan Transfer styled compositions. But even in the more common fair their vocals and arrangements, especially on songs like “The Future” put them in a class all by themselves.

Contributor David Lowman –

1 – Messiah – 3:25
2 – Undivided – 4:12
3 – Campmeetin’ Tonight – 3:33
4 – Bless, Ye The Lord – 4:25
5 – God Is Greater – 3:22
6 – One Step At A Time – 2:58
7 – Step Of Faith – 3:12
8 – The Future – 3:08
9 – Snap To It – 2:33
10 – Just As True For You – 4:15

Bass – Craig Nelson, Gary Lunn, Jimmy Lee Sloas, Mike Brignardello
Brass – Chris McDonald, Ernie Collins, John Rommell, Mike Haynes
Drums – Mark Hammond, Paul Leim
Guitar – Gary Burnette, Greg Jennings, James Hollihan, John Darnall, Jon Goin, Mark Baldwin, Tom Hemby
Keyboards – Dick Tunney, Phil Naish
Keyboards, Drum Programming – Keith Thomas
Percussion – Farrell Morris
Percussion [Anatomical] – Terry McMillan
Piano [Acoustic] – David Huntsinger
Saxophone – Dennis Solee, Doug Moffet, Jim Horn
Vocals – Bonnie Keen, Marty McCall, Melodie Tunney

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Word, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Word, Inc.
Manufactured By – Word, Inc.