Walt Harrah – On The Rock – 1983

This Walt Harrah album is subtitled on the cover with “A Musical Odyssey on Kingdom Living Based on the Sermon on the Mount”. This album was also available as a Chorus book with a cassette or Reel to Reel with the vocals removed. I’m not really too sure what that makes this project but I don’t know anyone who had the album or any of the other items so I don’t know how popular it was. Strangely in all the biographies I read on Walt this album is never even mentioned. The album itself is an easy listening synth oriented album and if you’re in the right mood this is an excellent album. That said it does have a very distinct sound so it may take a bit for it to grow on you. It did grow on me and I quite like it now.

1 – In The Kingdom – 3:22
2 – Kingdom Living – 3:07
3 – Poor In Spirit – 4:37
4 – Love Your Enemies Too – 2:22
5 – The Hypocrite – 3:00
6 – The Lord’s Prayer – 4:04
7 – What? Me Worry? – 2:20
8 – God, The Lilies N’ Me – 2:24
9 – All You’ve Gotta Do – 3:16
10 – On The Rock – 4:02
11 – Your Will Be Done – 5:15
12 – He Will Reign – 3:46

Drums – Dave Spurr
Keyboards, Programmed By – John Schreiner
Lead Vocals – Amick Byram
Synthesizer – Leon Gaer
Trumpet – Darrel Gardner
Vocals – Cozette Byrd
Vocals, Lead Vocals – Sandi Patty, Steve Green
Vocals, Lead Vocals, Producer, Arranged By – Walt Harrah

Please follow and like us:

Author: Ray Mansfield

One of the founding cowboys of Real 80s CCM. Been listening to this stuff since 1978.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *