Rick Cua – Can’t Stand Too Tall – 1988

This was Rick’s 5th album and his first with Reunion records. It is rumoured that Rick was a very diligent negotiator with his record deals so I think we can assume this album was a good earner for him. That said this album unfortunately falls into “that Cua album with that song” category. I don’t feel that way as I think this is a very good album. Furthermore this album introduced Rick to the CCM magazine charts. “Forever Yours” made it to #5 and “For The Love Of God” to #25. Now it almost goes without saying that these are not the best tracks on the album. My personal favourite is Hard Times which was written with Dino and John Elefante. Personally I love the female vocal (scream) at 22 seconds, it feels like we’re about to hear a metal song but alas it’s a good Rock & Roll tune in which you can definitely feel the Elefante brothers influence. To sum it up a great album, perhaps not his best but I still think it’s great.

1 – Hard Times – 4:43
2 – Can’t Stand Too Tall – 3:45
3 – Tunnel Vision – 4:08
4 – For The Love Of God – 5:31
5 – Reckless Faith – 4:43
6 – Crash The Party – 3:42
7 – We Are All The Same – 3:56
8 – Shakedown – 4:07
9 – Forever Yours – 4:01

Joey Cigainero – Programming
Rick Cua – Songwriter, Bass, Vocals
Bill Deaton – Engineer, Mixed
Nick Distefano – Songwriter
Dino Elefante – Songwriter
John Elefante – Songwriter
Michael English – Background Vocals
Rob Frazier – Songwriter, Background Vocals
Bob Halligan, Jr. – Songwriter, Background Vocals
Vicki Hampton – Background Vocals
Chris Harris – Songwriter, Background Vocals
Mark Heimermann – Songwriter, Background Vocals
Ron Hemby – Duet Vocals (For the Love of God)
Tom Hemby – Producer, Songwriter, Arrangements, Programming, Guitar
Terry Hemmings – Executive Producer
Wayne Kirkpatrick – Songwriter
Mary Lee Kortes – Songwriter
Carl Marsh – Fairlight
Donna McElroy – Background Vocals
Mike Mead – Drums, Percussion
Jeff Moseley – Executive Producer
Denny Purcell – Mastered
Chris Rodriguez – Background Vocals
Ron Sorbo – Percussion
Keith Thomas – Songwriter, Synthesizers

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Reunion Records
Copyright (c) – Reunion Records
Manufactured By – A&M Records
Distributed By – A&M Records
Recorded At – Gold Mine Studio
Recorded At – 16th Avenue Sound
Recorded By – Down Stage
Recorded At – Digital Recorders
Recorded At – Reflections
Recorded At – OmniSound Studios

Please follow and like us:

Author: Ray Mansfield

One of the founding cowboys of Real 80s CCM. Been listening to this stuff since 1978.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *