Lisa Welchel – All Because Of You – 1984

I believe I am safe to say that Lisa was the only Mouseketeer to have a CCM album. It’s gonna be embarrassing if I’m wrong on that one. Lisa was a Mouseketeer in 1977 – 1978 and by all accounts one of the popular ones. Was there an unpopular Mouseketeer? Anyway she went to start in the TV show “The Facts of Life” which I think is where most people know her from. Interestingly she refused a story line of losing her virginity on the show so the story was shifted to a different character and Lisa did not even appear on the episode, the only one she missed. In 1984 she decided to try her hand at music and released this album. I remember this album but unfortunately I remember it for who she was and not the album itself. I’m not saying it’s a bad album just not really memorable. Now lets be clear, albums like this were a dime a dozen in secular music but rarer in Christian music. The album isn’t bad and it even had a single, “How High, How Deep, How Wide” which struggled it’s way to #42 on the charts. The standout track on the album is “Good Girl” which was written by Steve Taylor and it’s immediately recognizable as being in some way connected to him. So if you haven’t listened to this one since the 80’s try listening to it again. If you just can’t do it at least listen to “Good Girl”

1 – Love Believer – 3:42
2 – Just Obey – 4:06
3 – How High, How Deep, How Wide – 4:11
4 – Real Possibility – 4:05
5 – Good Girl – 3:55
6 – Shelter – 3:43
7 – Set Me Free – 4:12
8 – Cover Me Lord – 3:52
9 – All Because Of You – 3:32
10 – He Sings Me To Sleep – 4:52

Backing Vocals – Charity McCrary, Howard McCrary, Linda McCrary, Melissa Mackay, Sandie Hall Brooks, Susan McBride
Bass – John Patitucci, Leon Gaer
Design [Cover] – Stan Evenson
Design [Lyric Sheet], Coordinator [Cover] – Craig Ross
Directed By [Lisa’s Vocal Direction and Coaching] – Roger Love
Drums – Bob Wilson (3), John Ferraro
Engineer – Mike Ross, Tim Roberstad, Wally Grant
Executive-Producer – Robert Cotton
Guitar – Marty Walsh
Keyboards – John Rosasco, Smitty Price
Management – Robert Cotton Management
Mastered By – Steve Hall
Mixed By – Robert Cotton*, Wally Grant
Photography By – Greg Gorman
Producer, Arranged By – John Rosasco
Synthesizer [Programming] – Rhett Lawrence
Vocals – Lisa Whelchel
Woodwind – Brandon Fields
Written-By – John Rosasco (tracks: A1-A4, B1, B4)

Companies, etc.
Distributed By – Sparrow Distribution
Published By – Word Music
Published By – Geodesic Music
Published By – Triune Music
Published By – C.A. Music
Published By – Emmaus Road Music
Published By – Willing Heart Music
Recorded At – Weddington Studios
Recorded At – Paramount Recording Studios
Mastered At – Future Disc
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Nissi Records

Please follow and like us:

Author: Ray Mansfield

One of the founding cowboys of Real 80s CCM. Been listening to this stuff since 1978.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *