The Latinos – His Song – 1973

The Latinos started out as The Four Latinos with four members of the Velasquez family. They released 2 albums in the 60’s using that name before settling on The Latinos. This is their 6th album with all but 1 of those albums being released on their own label including this one. The band’s first album was in 1964 and the continued putting out albums well into the 80’s. Strangely they never had a CCM charting single. I suspect this is because they mainly self released their work and CCM magazine basically ignored anything not on one of the “accepted” labels. Anyway, this is a great worship oriented album from a band that really should have been as popular as The Imperials. If you are unaware of this band they certainly should be listened to.

1 – His Song – 4:20
2 – What A Wonderful Life – 2:03
3 – Shine My Light – 2:52
4 – Love Is Just A Passing Thing – 2:43
5 – Let’s Take A Stand For Jesus – 2:10
6 – My Tribute (To God Be The Glory) – 4:00
7 – Since I’ve Met Christ – 3:35
8 – Somebody Told Me – 2:41
9 – If God Ruled Your Heart – 3:32
10 – Give Me More Of Jesus – 3:55

Arranged By – Fred Crane
Bass – Harold Velasquez
Congas – Leroy Velasquez
Drums – Chuck Kenyon
Engineer – Phil York
Keyboards – Judy Romero
Lead Guitar – Mike Velasquez
Management – Eddie Velasquez
Producer – Eddie Velasquez
Timbales – Leroy Velasquez

Please follow and like us:

Author: Ray Mansfield

One of the founding cowboys of Real 80s CCM. Been listening to this stuff since 1978.

4 thoughts on “The Latinos – His Song – 1973”

  1. Ray;
    Thank you so much for this website. I have this album by the Latinos which I bought when they came to our First Assembly of God church in Salt Lake City in 1971. They all signed my album and I especially love “My Tribute”. I can’t remember who sang it, weather it was Diane or Judy but either way its the best version I have ever heard. They are a wonderful group. By coincidence when my work transferred me to San Jose CA in 1976, Wayne and Diane moved into the house right across the street from us. We were so happy to see and hear them again. Lost track of them now. Sad.
    Paul and Linda

  2. I remember the Latinos coming to Evangel Temple in Topeka Kansas. Where is the drummer who was with the band in 1976-1977 era? They called him BB Robinson (for big bird because he was so tall)

  3. The Latinos may not have been as popular as The Imperials but thousands upon thousands of people came to know the saving knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ thru their beautiful and anointed music. I have been saved 48 years and have never forgotten their songs.

  4. My was a young Christian woman when she learned and appreciated the Latinos. She was so blessed by their music and encouraged to live for the Lord. Today she is a Pastor’s wife and is so grateful for the ministry of the Latinos music. May God bless you for your ministry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *