Michael Omartian – The Race – 1991

So we have about 500 albums we still have to upload to YouTube and sometimes the selection of what album to do next takes a funny turn. This is one of those albums. For some reason I said to myself hey lets listen to this Michael Omartian album. Now normally Michael would not be one of my go to albums as I’m not really a fan of his usual style of music. Imagine my surprise when I picked up this great pop album. Strangely this was pretty well Michael’s last solo project though he did some work in the 2000’s. I’m a little mystified as I think this is his best album yet. It’s not piano heavy at all and he just seems to play keyboards without trying to stand out. If you usually find Michael’s music a bit dull give this one a listen. I think you’ll be surprised.

1 – Faithful Forever – 4:35
2 – Heartbreak City – 5:28
3 – Let My Heart Be The First To Know – 3:48
4 – Kingdoms – 4:32
5 – Cry From The East – 6:29
6 – Alone – 5:05
7 – Last Night On Earth – 5:01
8 – Morning Light – 5:45
9 – Burn It Up – 3:42
10 – Kingdoms (Instrumental Reprise) – 3:20

David Ahlert – Engineer
David Boruff – Saxophone
Raymone Carter – Background Vocals
Terry Christian – Engineer, Mixed
Bryan Duncan – Background Vocals
Alice Echols – Background Vocals
Steve Hall – Engineer, Mastered
Jean Johnson – Background Vocals
Don Kirkpatrick – Guitar
Michael Omartian – Producer, Songwriter, Arrangements, Drum Programming, Keyboards, Bass, Vocals
David Raven – Drums
Susanne Schwartz – Background Vocals
Stephen Tavani – Background Vocals

Companies, etc.
Manufactured By – Epic
Distributed By – Epic
Copyright © – Word, Inc.
Phonographic Copyright ℗ – Word, Inc.
Recorded At – Sound House, North Hollywood, CA
Mixed At – Sound House, North Hollywood, CA
Mastered At – Future Disc
Glass Mastered At – DADC – DIDP-073855

Please follow and like us:

Author: Ray Mansfield

One of the founding cowboys of Real 80s CCM. Been listening to this stuff since 1978.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *