Ephraim – Ephraim – 1979

Ephraim were a 5 piece band out of Minnesota and this sums up everything I know about them. This was their only album and none of its members ever appeared to go on and do anything recorded. So let’s move on to the album. It’s great!!! As far as format goes it is your typical Jesus music album but very well done. It has the usual assortment of Rock, Country, Bluegrass and a funk tune mixed in for good measure. Quite frankly it’s so well done I am amazed I have never heard of these guys. The album appears to have been a very limited release so I guess that’s the reason but surely someone at the big CCM labels heard this album. Anyway if you’re a fan of early Daniel Amos I think you’ll love this album. Oh and the cover is excellent!!!

1 – Long Hard Ride
2 – Round Like A Donut
3 – He Loves Me
4 – Closed On Sunday
5 – He’s the One
6 – Night Life
7 – The River Song
8 – The Lone Ranger
9 – Breakdown
10 – Psalm 117

Bass – Dean Nelson
Drums, Percussion – Rick Naylor
Lead Guitar, Rhythm Guitar, Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Percussion, Twelve-String Guitar – John “Woody” Manias
Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Rhythm Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Lead Guitar, Classical Guitar – Daren John Hastings
Piano, Synthesizer, Organ, Harmonica, Percussion, Backing Vocals – Tim Oberg