The Bond – Won By One – 1987

This is yet another Geoff Mann project. Geoff must have been a pretty busy guy because he must have put out 10 albums using different names in the mid 80’s. As I said in a previous review of his work I am sorry I didn’t know about him in the 80’s as his music is exactly what I was listening to back then. As near as I can tell this album was only released in the UK which is probably why I never heard of him. Geoff is joined by Dave Mortimer, and Steve Ridley to form “The Bond”. It’s another excellent new wave album but less conceptual than his other work I have listened to.

1 – Trumpet Call – 5:58
2 – Rest Assured – 4:11
3 – New – 3:59
4 – Cry Out – 4:37
5 – His Love – 4:18
6 – Too Modern – 4:59
7 – After The Storm – 6:03
8 – Certainly – 5:47
9 – Willy Welsh – 8:04

Backing Vocals [Backing Voices], Keyboards, Wind [Wind Instruments] – Steve Ridley
Bass Guitar – Adrian Cathcart
Engineer – Clive Davenport
Guitar [Ghastly Green Gibson] – Dave Mortimer
Lyrics By – Geoff Mann
Mastered By – Jack Adams
Music By [Music Written], Arranged By, Performer – Dave Mortimer, Geoff Mann, Steve Ridley
Producer – Clive Davenport, The Bond
Voice [Voices], Guitar [Wobbly/Non-Wobbly Guitars], Programmed By, Drum Programming [Realtime Drum Machines] – Geoff Mann
Written-By – Dave Mortimer
Written-By [Songs By] – Geoff Mann

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright ℗ – Marshall Pickering Records
Copyright © – Marshall Pickering Records
Copyright © – Geoff Mann
Recorded At – Charter Studio

Geoff Mann – Psalm Enchanted Evening – 1986

Geoff Mann is rapidly becoming one of my favourite 80’s artists that I didn’t even know existed in the 80’s. The information on this album is pretty scant and I don’t even know where it was released though I am assuming the UK. As for the album I guess it could be best described as conceptual New Wave though your description might be different. It only came out on LP but was re-released in 1994 on a compilation disc. Strangely the re-release was actually missing the track “Peacemeal” but it was included on the re-release of Chants Would be a Fine Thing in 2004. The album appears to be entirely Geoff and Dave Mortimer but we do know Steve Millie did step in to do the Bass track on “Creation”. So if you are a fan of New Wave and you missed this one in the 80’s I strongly suggest a listen to it now.

1 – Creation – 3:50
2 – Dance – 6:29
3 – Gethsemane – 4:15
4 – Waves – 8:04
5 – Peacemeal – 8:40
6 – Flowers – 11:38

Electric Guitar – Dave Mortimer
Electronic Drums – Geoff Mann
Guitar – Dave Mortimer
Producer – Geoff Mann
Synthesizer – Geoff Mann
Voice – Geoff Mann

Companies, etc.
Recorded – Pullman Studios, Manchester.
Record Company – Wobbly Records

Geoff Mann – I May Sing Grace – 1984

I only became aware of this artist after it was requested. After listening to the album and reading up on Geoff I am very surprised I haven’t heard of him. This is exactly the style of music I was listening to right when this album came out. As far as I can tell the album was only released in the UK so this might be why but I really think I would have found this one on the import shelf. Geoff was a member of Twelfth Night in the late 70’s and early 80’s and did several albums with them. This is Geoff’s first solo album and wow what an album it is. Strangely it was released on a secular label but is an obviously Christian album. This is not unheard of but was relatively rare at that time. Geoff’s previous work was not Christian so I don’t know when in his career he became a Christian. Of course there will be disagreement of what I mean by “Christian” as it does not appear that Geoff was an Evangelical Christian as he was ordained as a Priest in the Church of England in 1990. Anyway we have a great New Wave album here and when you see Howard Jones in the credits it’s not that Howard Jones but instead a different but equally talented one.

1 – Piccadilly Square – 4:51
2 – I Wouldn’t Lie (To You) – 4:46
3 – Kingdom Come – 3:48
4 – Afterwards – 5:35
5 – For God’s Sake – 4:33
6 – Green Paper Snow – 6:15
7 – For More Than A Day – 6:18
8 – My Soul – 5:47
9 – Slow One – 4:58

Bass – Keith Gould
Drums, Percussion – Howard Jones
Guitar – Dave Mortimer
Guitar, Mandolin, Keyboards – The Still Owl
Percussion – Andy Mason
Vocals, Guitar, Percussion – Geoff Mann