Idle Cure – Inside Out – 1991

This was Idle Cure’s 4th album and it pretty well picked up where 2nd Avenue left off. The style is very similar. That style being highly polished hard rock / light metal. The band lineup essentially remained the same and if you didn’t know better you might have thought they recorded this album at the same time as the previous, it’s that similar. From what I understand this album did not sell as well as 2nd Avenue but who knows. Christian record companies weren’t well known for releasing sales numbers. So if you like your metal light or your rock hard and polished this is an album you will enjoy.

1 – We’ve Lost Ground – 4:03
2 – Who Cries For Me – 4:13
3 – Holy Mountain – 4:26
4 – Mind Games – 3:51
5 – Redline – 4:18
6 – Innocent Again – 4:44
7 – I Will Hold On – 3:47
8 – Where Is The Love – 3:39
9 – The Higher We Climb – 4:01
10 – Tear Down The Walls – 3:19

Art Direction – Ed McTaggart
Coordinator – Beth Jahnsen
Design – Brian Godawa
Drums – Clark Edmond
Engineer – Bill Baumgart, Dave Jahnsen
Guitar [Additional] – Glen Pierce
Guitar, Vocals – Mark Ambrose
Illustration – Steve Firchow
Keyboards [Additional] – Tim Heintz
Keyboards, Vocals – Pete Lomakin
Mixed By – Dave Jahnsen
Photography By – Wayne Armstrong
Producer – Bill Baumgart
Vocals – Steve Shannon
Vocals [Additional] – Bob Carlisle

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Frontline Records
Copyright (c) – Frontline Records
Record Company – Frontline Music Group
Glass Mastered At – Nimbus, Virginia
Produced For – Asylomar
Recorded At – The Mixing Lab
Mixed At – Mixing Lab A
Mixed At – Front Page Studios

Idle Cure – Tough Love – 1988

The second release from Idle Cure doubled down on their first album. Hard rock rifts and vocals return to give us another great hard rock album. This album featured improved lyrics and slightly better vocals, likely due to improved engineering. In fact I would say the entire album had improved engineering. The album did not include original guitarist Chuck King, who had left to co-form the band Shout. It appears that David Huff (White Heart) providing the drumming for the album and the drumming on the album is very good. It nails that Arena Rock sound from the 80’s.

1 – Just Believe It – 3:49
2 – Barter Mercy – 4:18
3 – Frontline – 4:06
4 – So Many Faces – 3:36
5 – Hungry Hearts – 4:02
6 – One For The Money – 3:30
7 – How Long – 3:55
8 – Runnin’ – 4:01
9 – Draw The Line – 3:19

Art Direction – Ed McTaggart
Band [Idle Cure Is], Guitar [Guitars] – Mark Ambrose
Band [Idle Cure Is], Keyboards – Pete Lomakin
Band [Idle Cure Is], Vocals – Steve Shannon
Co-producer [Co-Produced By] – Tim Heintz
Design Concept [Cover Concept By] – Idle Cure
Engineer [Engineered By] – Dave Jahnsen
Musician [Additional Musicians], Backing Vocals – Bill Baumgart, Bob Carlisle
Musician [Additional Musicians], Drums – David Huff*
Musician [Additional Musicians], Keyboards – Tim Heintz
Musician [Additional Musicians], Lead Guitar – Tim Pierce
Musician [Additional Musicians], Saxophone – Eric Marienthal
Photography By – Michael Seeley
Photography By [Back Cover Photo By] – Eddie Huff
Producer [Produced By] – Bill Baumgart

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Frontline Records
Copyright (c) – Frontline Records
Distributed By – The Benson Company
Published By – Broken Songs
Glass Mastered At – Nimbus, Virginia

Idle Cure – 2nd Avenue – 1990

The 3rd studio album from Idle Cure continued their arena rock sound that was so successful for them. Producer Bill Baumgart returns with Mark, Pete, and Steve for another successful album. I was doing a but of research on this album and I found some spirited conversations discussing whether not not this was their best album. Like I say they didn’t always agree but I think generally Idle Cure fans do consider this their best album. Now keeping in mind I did not hear any of their music until just the last few years I think their debut was the best. If I had to pick a favourite track for this album there’s no doubt for me that it’s “Talk It Out”.

1 – Pray – 4:38
2 – It’s No Fun Anymore – 4:01
3 – Human Solution – 4:58
4 – Picture Of Love – 3:49
5 – Contend For The Faith – 4:07
6 – Talk It Out – 4:28
7 – Don’t Turn Away – 4:04
8 – If You Mean It – 3:30
9 – Dead Or Alive – 3:58
10 – Ordinary Man – 4:07

Art Direction – Ed McTaggart
Drums – Clark Edmond
Engineer, Mixed By – Dave Jahnsen
Guitar, Vocals – Mark Ambrose
Keyboards, Vocals – Pete Lomakin
Layout – Joe Potter
Lead Vocals – Steve Shannon
Photography By – Scott Lockwood
Producer [Production Assistant] – Beth Wisner
Producer, Engineer – Bill Baumgart

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Frontline Records
Copyright (c) – Frontline Records
Recorded At – The Mixing Lab
Mixed At – The Mixing Lab
Recorded At – Jedi Masters
Mixed At – Jedi Masters

Idle Cure – Idle Cure – 1986

In the mid/late 80’s metal bands were all the rage in CCM. Unfortunately many just didn’t quite have it quite yet but CCM labels were begging for the genre. Along come Idle Cure and they were tight and ready for the market. Their sound was a but of Def Leppard, a bit of Van Halen, and maybe even Bon Jovi. Feel free to completely disagree with me. Personally I don’t really classify them as metal but instead hard rock or metal pop. The metal pop sound was very well received and quite frankly this is not my style of music but I love this album. While I researched the band I found it interesting that drummer Dave Spurr had previously played with Phil Keaggy and other worship oriented bands, wow what a shift. Breakaway and Come Alive are on regular rotation on my personal mp3 playlist.


Track Listing
1 – Breakaway – 4:00
2 – Silent Hope – 4:05
3 – Take It – 4:41
4 – Feeling the Heat – 4:15
5 – Come Back to Me – 4:07
6 – Overdrive – 4:33
7 – From the Heart – 5:01
8 – Come Alive – 4:24

Mark Ambrose – Composer, Guitar, Keyboards, Vocals
Bill Baumgart – Composer, Keyboards, Producer, Vocals, Engineer, Producer
Allison Beech – Vocals
Tim Browne – Guitar
Terrence Elliot – Guitar
Michael Hamilton – Guitar
Tim Heintz – Keyboards
Marc Hugenberger – Keyboards
Chuck King – Composer, Guitar, Vocals
Pete Lomakin – Composer, Keyboards, Vocals
Eric Marienthal – Saxophone
Steve Shannon – Bass, Composer, Vocals
Bob Somma – Guitar
Dave Spurr – Drums
Ed McTaggart – Art Direction, Design
Dave Jahnsen – Engineer [Assistant]
Kirt Shearer – Engineer [Assistant]
Jeff Foster – Illustration
Linda Dillon Baley – Photography