City Limits – (self titled) – 1981

City Limits was Scott Roley and his touring band in studio. The drummer for the album was Joe English but he didn’t tour in support of the album.

The single “Sacrificing Love” broke the top five on the Contemporary Christian Charts and had strong airplay for several months.

The album is easy listening and easy to listen too and the songs are all very well written i.e. excellent lyrics and music.

Track Listing:
1 – Holdin’ The Key – 3:09
2 – Christians – 4:23
3 – Lost In His Love – 3:59
4 – In Each Heart – 2:58
5 – Sacrificing Love – 3:53
6 – Heavenly Father – 3:15
7 – The Awakening – 3:00
8 – Cross Your Heart – 3:16
9 – In Your Love – 3:38
10 – Man From Heaven – 3:15

Art Direction, Design – Ron Brant, Stan Evenson Design Inc.
Backing Vocals [Background Vocals] – Diane Tidwell, Lisa Silver, Michael Albrecht, Sheri Huffman
Bass – Larry Paxton
Drums – Joe English
Engineer – Jim Baird, Pat Holt, Randy Holland, Scott Hendricks
Executive-Producer – Ray Nenow
Guitar – George Cocchini, Jon Goin, Kenny Mims
Horns – Dennis Solee, Donnie (Sax) Sanders, Ernie Collins, Matt Davich, Rob Hill, Sam Levine, Terry Mead
Keyboards – John Rosasco
Lead Vocals [Uncredited] – Scott Roley
Mastered By – Hank Williams
Percussion – Terry McMillan
Percussion [Mallet Instruments], Synthesizer [Synthesizers] – Alan Steinberger
Photography By – Larry DuPont
Photography By [Photograph Of Scott Roley] – Melody McGuire
Producer, Arranged By [String Arrangements], Arranged By [Brass Arrangements] – John Rosasco

Please follow and like us:

Steve Camp – One on One – 1986

This 4th offering from Steve Camp was more of the same.

This album has a distinctly 80’s sound and is slightly more up tempo than previous ones. If I had to pick one track to listen to it would be “Foolish Things”.

1 – Foolish Things
2 – Other Side Of The World
3 – Judgement Begins With The House Of God
4 – One On One
5 – He Covers Me
6 – Cheap Grace
7 – Mr. Brokenhearted
8 – Threshing Floor
9 – He’s All You Need

Backing Vocals – Bill Champlin, Bob Carlisle (2), Jason Scheff, Steve Lively, Tamara Champlin, Tommy Funderburk
Bass – Lee Sklar*
Drums – Jeff Porcaro
Engineer [Additional] – Dan Garcia, David Schober, Mike Ross*, Peter Hayden
Engineer [Rhythm Tracks] – Dennis Mackay
English Horn – Jon Clarke
Keyboards – Smitty Price
Mixed By – Bill Schnee
Percussion – Dan Greco*
Producer, Arranged By, Drum Programming [SP-12 Drum Machine Programming] – Steve Camp
Producer, Arranged By, Orchestrated By – John Rosasco
Rhythm Guitar – Michael Landau
Rhythm Guitar, Lead Guitar – Dann Huff
Vocals [Female Vocal, Duet] – Margaret Becker (tracks: A4)

Please follow and like us:

Rick Cua – Koo-Ah – 1982

Rick Cua is one of 49 members of The Outlaws over the past 6 decades or so. The “Southern rock” sound of The Outlaws translated somewhat into his solo career, but Rick has his own sound.

Rick left The Outlaws after turning to Christ and wanted to start making music with a message. He made several Christian albums, but never quite made it to household name status.

This debut from 1982 is a classic to me nonetheless. It reminds me of those teenage years spent listening to music in the basement, and all the time spent with friends back then.

Listening to it now, I think this was a greatly underrated record.

Track Listing:
1 – Fly Me To Heaven – 3:38
2 – Spirit – 3:53
3 – The Rock Was Rolled Away – 3:14
4 – Eternity – 4:07
5 – Heaven Was Made For Everybody – 3:34
6 – You Can Still Rock ‘N Roll – 3:01
7 – Crossfire – 3:19
8 – Just A Little Bit More – 3:56
9 – I Wanna Be Like You – 4:46
10 – Melt My Heart – 2:53

Backing Vocals – Diane Tidwell, Donna McElroy, Lisa Silver
Design [Album Design] – Bill Brunt
Drums – David Dix, Joe English
Engineer – Jeff Levine
Engineer [Assistant] – Haran Hunter, Jim Baird
Executive-Producer – Ray Nenow
Guitar – Freddie Salem, Will McFarlane
Lacquer Cut By – HW
Lead Vocals, Bass – Rick Cua
Percussion – Matt Greeley
Photography By – Larry Dixon
Piano – Mike Duke
Producer, Arranged By – John Rosasco, Rick Cua
Synthesizer – Alan Steinberger
Written-By – Greg Nelson, Rick Cua, Scott Roley

Please follow and like us:

Joe English – Lights In The World – 1980

This is the first solo Joe English project.

Better known as a member of Paul McCartney and Wings, Joe left the band and started performing Christian music. This album was on the edge of easy listening, but many found it to have enough of an edge to consider it CCM rock.

Point of trivia is that Russ Taff provided some backup vocals for the album.

Track Listing:
1 – To Love Is to Live
2 – Shine On
3 – Dyin’
4 – Is There Not One Good Man
5 – Midnight Angel Choir
6 – Get Ready
7 – Is the King Your Friend
8 – The Lord Never Leaves
9 – Praise Him
10 – Keep in Touch

Lead Vocals – Joe English
Backing Vocals – Russell Taff*
Bass – Larry Paxton
Drums – Joe English
Guitar – George Cocchini
Keyboards – John Rosasco
Percussion – Terry McMillan
Synthesizer [Micro-Moog] – Alan Steinberger
Synthesizer [Prophet 5] – Shane Keister
Arranged By – John Rosasco,Shelly Kurland ,Greg Nelson
Art Direction – Bob McConnell
Design [Cover Design] – Stan Evenson
Engineer – Scott Hendricks
Executive-Producer – Ray Nenow
Producer – Greg Nelson

Please follow and like us: