Ipso Facto – Ipso Facto – 1983

You are probably aware of the group One Truth but you may not be aware of them when they changed their name to Ipso Facto. I was kind of wondering why they would use a different name for this EP but I think it’s because they wanted to do an album with an 80’s Pop sound without having their previous sound hung around their necks. But I’m left bewildered at why they self produced and released this EP and couldn’t find a label to release it. These guys were established musicians in the industry and should have had no problem with finding someone to release this album. They were previously with Greentree Records and while this album wasn’t the style of album Greentree were releasing at that point in the 80’s but they were owned by Benson who had all sorts of labels that could have released this album. Oh well anyway you should give this EP a quick listen, it has a solid 80’s sound and the track “Michael” will be going into my regular rotation.

1 – Michael – 5:20
2 – Who Will You Blame – 4:50
3 – Heartmaker – 3:37
4 – Multiple Choice – 5:56

Bass – Glen Holmen
Bass, Vocals – Andrew Osbrink
Drums, Percussion, Vocals – William Dragoo
Guitar, Vocals – David John Etzen
Keyboards – Smitty Price
Lead Vocals, Guitar – Randall Butler
Piano, Vocals – Terry Butler

One Truth – Playing For Keeps – 1980

This is the 3rd and last album from One Truth. Well they did release a 4 track EP in 1983 using the band name Ipso Facto so we did get one more bit form them later. Oh and just a quick note the EP is fantastic. After that EP several members went on to release solo projects but most of them were more in the Worship genre. This album has a great seventoes fell and is probably one of the better 70’s style (not Jesus music) lbums I’ve heard. There’s even a couple of good 70’s rockers on the album. The album jacket had a baseball theme and the album has a track called “Seventh Inning Stretch” featuring an organ playing “Take Me Out To The Ballgame”. A bit strange but something different qhich I appreciate.

1 – I’ll Have Enough – 4:01
2 – Rock Or Sand – 5:12
3 – I’ve Never Been There Before – 2:47
4 – Teach Us To Forgive – 6:25
5 – Don’t Be Deceived – 3:40
6 – Satisfied – 3:22
7 – Lord My Desire – 4:17
8 – Seventh Inning Stretch – 0:49
9 – Gonna Run – 3:43
10 – Jesus Wants To Know Each One – 3:15

Greg Butler – Background Vocals
Randall Butler – Songwriter, Guitar, Vocals
Terry Butler – Songwriter, Keyboards, Background Vocals
Bob Clark – Engineer
Bill Dragoo – Drums
Dave Emerson – Songwriter
Dave Etzen – Songwriter, Guitar, Vocals
Phil Johnson – Producer, Engineer, Background Vocals
Brent King – Engineer
Larrie Londin – Drums
Andy Osbrink – Bass, Background Vocals
Warren Peterson – Engineer
Smitty Price – Engineer, Keyboards, Background Vocals
Hank Williams – Mastered

Companies, etc.
Recorded At – Sound House, North Hollywood, CA
Remixed At – Great Circle Sound
Mastered At – Masterfonics