Graham Kendrick – Fighter – 1978

When I picked up this album to listen to I was somewhat optimistic based on the album cover. Wow was I wrong. This is a very easy listening album. Now lets be clear, It’s a good album but not an album I would normally listen to. I was unfamiliar with Kendrick’s work but I think I have a good understanding of it now. This album has a “fight” theme. I don’t think I’ve ever listened to an album as heavily themed as this one. The songs are good and apparently several of Kendrick’s song have made their way into hymnals. Sheila Walsh also recorded the title track and had some success with it. Apparently some of the releases of this album were produced on a translucent vinyl which when held to light looked deep red. I am assuming this was supposed to represent blood.

1 – On The Frontline
2 – Sleeping In Gethsemane
3 – The Reluctant Disciple
4 – Night Comes
5 – Make It Soon
6 – Victory Is The Only Song I Know
7 – Often When The World Crowds
8 – The Story’s Just Begun
9 – God Put A Fighter In Me
10 – Battle Hymn

Please follow and like us:

Author: Ray Mansfield

One of the founding cowboys of Real 80s CCM. Been listening to this stuff since 1978.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *