Stryper – Against The Law – 1990

Stryper’s 1990 release was probably my favourite. This is in no small part because of the more commercial sound of the album as I’ve never been a huge Metal fan. This album was very well produced but I bet the Metal fans of Stryper thought it was over produced. The JPM count on this album is much much lower than usual from them. I really think this album could have been a commercial success if it had just come out a few years earlier. Unfortunately at this point in history Rock & Roll was headed to it’s dreaded grunge sound. The album actually has several songs centered on women and I bet there’s an interesting story in Michael Sweet’s life at the time. To me one of the stand out tracks is “Lady” which is an excellent rock ballad that could have easily played on radio just a few years earlier. The strange cut on the album is a cover of Earth Wind & Fire’s Shining Star which actually is pretty good. They did close out the album with a Metal song for their base fans, “Rock the Hell Out of You”

1 – Against The Law – 3:49
2 – Two Time Woman – 3:40
3 – Rock The People – 3:34
4 – Two Bodies (One Mind One Soul) – 5:17
5 – Not That Kind Of Guy – 3:59
6 – Shining Star – 4:22
7 – Ordinary Man – 3:51
8 – Lady – 4:53
9 – Caught In The Middle – 3:48
10 – All For One – 4:31
11 – Rock The Hell Out Of You – 3:35

A&R [A&R Administration] – Jacqui Randle
A&R [A&R Direction] – John Guarnieri
Art Direction – Patrick Pending
Art Direction, Design – Rudy Tuesday
Backing Vocals [Additional Background Vocals] – Jeff Scott Soto
Bass – Randy Jackson (tracks: B1)
Bass, Backing Vocals [Background Vocals] – Tim Gaines
Drums – Robert Sweet
Engineer [Assistant Engineer (Devonshire)] – Mike Bosley
Engineer [Assistant Engineer (Music Grinder)] – Lawrence Ethan
Engineer [Assistant Engineer (The Record Plant)] – Buzz Morrows
Guitar, Backing Vocals [Background Vocals] – Oz Fox
Keyboards – John Purdell
Keyboards [Additional Keyboards/Tour Keyboards] – Brent Jeffers
Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Guitar, Backing Vocals [Background Vocals] – Michael Sweet
Mixed By, Recorded By – Eddie DeLena
Other [Clothing] – Fleur Thiemeyer
Other [Makeup] – Kyle Tucy Sweet
Photography By [Band Photography] – Neil Zlozower
Photography By [Special Photo Printing] – David Perry
Photography By [Still-Life Photography] – Ed Colver
Producer, Percussion – Tom Werman
Typography [Typesetting] – Jeannine Pinkerton

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Enigma Records
Copyright (c) – Enigma Records
Mixed At – Record Plant, Los Angeles
Recorded At – Music Grinder Studios
Recorded At – Devonshire Studios

Please follow and like us:

Author: Ray Mansfield

One of the founding cowboys of Real 80s CCM. Been listening to this stuff since 1978.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *