Boys Club – Demo 2 – 1987

In 1987 when their Branded tour was over Gym and Sim from Undercover decided to form a new project and cut a couple demo’s. Ojo was off doing is own thing and took Gary with him. Gym and Sim were joined on Drums by Rod Learned (Berlin, yes that Berlin “Sex”) on Drums, Jeff Sheets (Dead Artist Syndrome) on Keyboards, and Fred MacGregor (no idea who he is) on Bass. This is the second of these 2 demos. It has 3 tracks that would make it oneto the Undercover album “Balance Of Power”. Land of Luxury, Time, and Love Me Dangerously which is a really great tune. Also strangely there is a cover of Clapton’s “White Room”.This is all I know about this project. The demo itself has an excellent new wave feel and sound. I don’t understand why someone didn’t pick this album up and release it. The quality of the mix/production is as good as anything else that came out at the time. Maybe it was legal issues due to two members being signed to Broken Records but that’s just a guess. Anyway it’s a great demo and a treat for Undercover fans who want a little more.

1 – You And I – 3:01
2 – Love Game – 4:14
3 – Land Of Luxury – 5:49
4 – Hope It Never Comes To This Again – 3:49
5 – Here Comes The Fire – 4:42
6 – Time – 7:47
7 – Used To Be – 4:11
8 – White Room – 4:14
9 – Once Is Never Enough – 3:34
10 – We Ride – 3:37
11 – Love Me Dangerously – 3:00
12 – Crazy – 3:28

Bass – Fred MacGregor
Drums – Rod Learned
Keyboards – Jeff Sheets
Vocals, Guitar – Gym Nicholson
Vocals – Sim Wilson

Please follow and like us:

Author: Ray Mansfield

One of the founding cowboys of Real 80s CCM. Been listening to this stuff since 1978.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *