Richie Furay – Dance a Little Light – 1978

This was Richie’s first album on David Geffen Asylum Records. Richie told David that the album would not be obviously Christian and more mainstream. So this album gets filed as an album by a Christian as apposed to a Christian album. The album was very reminiscent of his Buffalo Springfield and Poco days. It has a great 70’s sound and there’s even a few tracks where you might hear an Eagles sound. In a bit of foreshadowing bassist Timothy B. Schmit would go on to play with the Eagles. There is an interesting cover of “This Magic Moment”. It doesn’t really work for me but it’s well done. The album was well received and many considered it to be his best solo work.

1 – It’s Your Love – 3:50
2 – Your Friends – 2:45
3 – Ooh Dreamer – 5:06
4 – Yesterday’s Gone – 3:13
5 – Someone Who Cares – 3:50
6 – Dance A Little Light – 2:55
7 – This Magic Moment – 3:06
8 – Bittersweet Love – 3:45
9 – You Better Believe It – 2:55
10 – Stand Your Guard – 8:10

Arranged By [Strings and Horns], Conductor – David Diggs
Backing Vocals – Chris Hillman (tracks: B3), David Cassidy (tracks: A2, A4, B5), Ed Cobb (tracks: B2), George Grantham (tracks: B3), Richie Furay (tracks: A1 to B2, B4, B5), Timothy B. Schmit (tracks: A1 to A4, B3 to B5), Virgil Beckham (tracks: A1 to B1, B5)
Bass – Billy Batstone*
Concertmaster – George Poole
Congas – Victor Feldman (tracks: A1, A2)
Design – Johnny Lee (4)
Drums – John Mehler
Engineer – Eric Prestidge
Engineer [Assistant] – Chris Desmond, Nighttime Dave Ruffo, Eric Drew Feldman, Leonard Kovner, Lon Neumann, Ralph Osborn, Skip Cottrell Handclaps – Jim Mason (tracks: A2) Keyboards – Gabriel Katona Lead Guitar, Harmony Vocals – Virgil Beckham Lead Vocals, Rhythm Guitar [Acoustic], Rhythm Guitar [Electric], Harmony Vocals – Richie Furay Mastered By – Doug Sax Mixed By, Engineer – Eric Prestidge Mixed By, Engineer [Assistant] – Bill Gazecki, Dave LaBarre, Rick Hart Photography [Liner] – Scott Lockwood Photography By [Front/Back Cover] – Henry Diltz Producer – Jim Mason Saxophone – Jim Coile, Jim Horn Shaker – Alex MacDougall (tracks: B2) Trombone – Jack Redman
Trumpet, Flugelhorn – Chuck Findlay*, Steve Madaio
Vibraphone [Vibes] – Victor Feldman (tracks: B3)

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Elektra/Asylum Records
Copyright (c) – Elektra/Asylum Records
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Asylum Records
Manufactured By – Elektra/Asylum/Nonesuch Records
Produced For – Free Flow Productions
Recorded At – Davlen Sound Studios
Recorded At – Producers Workshop
Recorded At – Wally Heider Recording Studio, Los Angeles
Recorded At – A&M Studios
Mixed At – Producers Workshop
Mastered At – The Mastering Lab
Pressed By – PRC Recording Company, Compton, CA
Copyright (c) – Song Mountain Music Publishers
Copyright (c) – Richie Furay Music
Copyright (c) – Fort Knox Music Co.
Copyright (c) – Instant Joy Music
Copyright (c) – New Harmony Music
Copyright (c) – Rumbalero Music, Inc.
Published By – Song Mountain Music Publishers
Published By – Richie Furay Music
Published By – Fort Knox Music Co.
Published By – Instant Joy Music
Published By – New Harmony Music
Published By – Belinda Music

Please follow and like us:

Author: Ray Mansfield

One of the founding cowboys of Real 80s CCM. Been listening to this stuff since 1978.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *