Kenny Marks – Right Where You Are – 1984

In the world of Christian pop music more than a handful of artists bounded on the scene without the songwriting credentials, artistic acumen and lyrical insight…and they sold a ton of records. Other like Kenny Marks made a name for themselves and sold a decent amount, but never attained the popularity their quality work deserved. Often favorably compared to Bryan Adam and Richard Marx, Kenny Marks was a singer-songwriter that plied his trade in the CCM world and should have done much better. His songs combined the popular and common themes of mainstream CCM with a twist or difference that set him apart. he would also deal with subjects either taboo or poorly communicated in other settings. He may be most noted for his trilogy of songs that surrounded the relationship between a Johnny and a Jeannie. Two High School sweethearts that date, marry, have a child and divorce. Though a later album would bring Johnny back as a character, it is the three songs on three records in a row that are of most note. That trilogy started here with “Growing Up Too Fast.” The albums biggest hit was the title track, a stirring ballad about God’s undying love and forgiveness. “One Small Voice” reminds the listener of God’s attempt to speak to us in the small things in a busy and loud world. “Single-Minded Love” addresses the loneliness and difficulty of being a single adult within the walls of the Church. Marks had a decent little career, but it should have been stronger and lasted longer. There were three of four fantastic albums released throughout the mid-80’s that still deserve repeated listening.

Contributor David Lowman –

1 – Right Where You Are – 4:11
2 – One Small Voice – 3:17
3 – Prisoner – 4:57
4 – It’s Incredible – 3:21
5 – Gift From God – 4:10
6 – Growing Up Too Fast – 4:00
7 – Single-Minded Love – 3:45
8 – Still Be Believing – 3:20
9 – You’re The Best – 3:40
10 – Sing For Joy – 3:11

Art Direction – Bill Brunt
Backing Vocals – Denny Henson, Kenny Marks, Pamela Marks, Patti Leatherwood, Randy Guidry
Bass – Mike Brignardello
Drums – Dennis Holt
Engineer – Kyle Lehning
Engineer [Assistant] – Doug Sarrett
Engineer, Mixed By – Jeff Balding
Executive-Producer – Neal Joseph
Guitar – Jon Goin
Mastered By – Hank Williams
Percussion – Terry McMillan
Photography By – Mark Tucker
Producer, Keyboards, Synthesizer, Keyboards [Mini Moog Bass], Backing Vocals – Keith Thomas
Saxophone – Mark Douthit

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Word, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Word, Inc.
Recorded At – Gold Mine Studio
Mixed At – Gold Mine Studio
Mastered At – Mastermix
Pressed By – Monarch Record Mfg. Co.

Please follow and like us:

Author: David Lowman

Owner and writer at CCM's 500 Best Albums Of All Time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *