King James – King James – 1994

This was the introductory album, from Metal Super Group King James that was put together by Rex Carroll from Whitecross As Stryper was dissolved at this point in history Tim Gaines and Robert Sweet of Stryper jumped into the project and Jimi Bennett from Sacred Fire rounded out the group. I’m guessing that this is probably the first Christian super group though I don’t really care for the term. But historically this is the term that was being used at the time. The album is not quite as metal as you may think. It leans more Hard Rock than metal and there are actually lots of somewhat mellow tracks. It is said that the boys from Styper actually found several of the tracks to be too mellow for their liking. The idea for the group was not a multi album idea but instead a one off but as it was well received the boys came together for more albums but with an adjusted lineup.

1 – Hard Road To Go – 5:45
2 – Prisoner – 4:35
3 – Touch The Fire – 4:39
4 – Miracles – 4:36
5 – Desperate – 5:09
6 – Love Is Gonna Find You – 5:00
7 – Stand Up And Fight – 3:21
8 – Choices – 5:03
9 – Miracles [Acoustic Remix] – 4:34
10 – Rev Rider – 6:07
11 – Sunrise In Rio – 4:06
12 – Face To Face – 4:20
13 – Face To Face / Reprise – 3:55

Jimi Bennett – Lead Vocals
Rex Carroll – Guitars, producer
Tim Gaines – Bass
Robert Sweet – Drums
Glen West – Engineer
Denny Purcell – Master
Rick Wells – Keyboards

Please follow and like us:

Author: Ray Mansfield

One of the founding cowboys of Real 80s CCM. Been listening to this stuff since 1978.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *