After the Fire – 80f – Original Mix Version – Acetate – 1980

I’ll start off by explaining what this is. It is taken from the original acetate recording/mix for the 80-f album. This is the version that was produced by Tony Mansfield (no relation) and ultimately rejected by CBS records. CBS had the band go to Germany with ex-Fly’s drummer Peter King, to re-record the album. It was remixed and reproduced by Reinhold Mack. Three songs were killed (Another World / Operator / Satellite In Orbit) and three new songs were added (Wild West Show / Why Can’t We Be Friends / Joanne). I am guessing that some of you are intentionally reading this review just to hear me lose my mind and I will not disappoint. Exactly what the suits at CBS were thinking completely mystifies me. I mean had they even listened to the 2 Cars albums that had come out at this point and were dominating the charts. ATF were exactly as good if not better than The Cars and this mix was exactly that sound that was dominating the charts. Furthermore what was wrong with Nick Brotherwood’s drumming? The drum track on this album is dead on and absolutely perfect. Tony nailed this mix and we had a 3 or 4 single album here. In the end we are blessed that this version leaked and we want to thank friend of the channel Randy Layton (Alternative Records) for getting us a copy of what was probably going to be one of the top albums of 1980. Instead CBS dumbed it down and destroyed it. SIGH

1 – Starlight – 4:24
2 – High Fashion – 3:18
3 – Another World – 3:36
4 – Can You face It? – 3:20
5 – Operator – 3:45
6 – Love Will Always Make You Cry – 4:00
7 – 1980-F – 2:37
8 – Satellite In Orbit – 3:18
9 – Who’s Gonna Love You – 4:21
10 – Billy, Billy – 4:30

Bass, Lead Vocals – Andy Piercy
Drums – Nick Brotherwood
Keyboards – Peter Memory Banks
Lead Guitar – John Russell
Producer, Engineer – Tony Mansfield

Companies, etc.
Lacquer Cut At – Tape One

Please follow and like us:

Author: Ray Mansfield

One of the founding cowboys of Real 80s CCM. Been listening to this stuff since 1978.

2 thoughts on “After the Fire – 80f – Original Mix Version – Acetate – 1980”

  1. Hi Ray, Discogs says this acetate has a final track ‘Starflight (Reprise)’ on. Do you have it?
    best wishes

    1. No for some reason it got lost in the transfer to digital. I checked around and no one else has it either. That said I’m planning to talk to Peter Banks soon so maybe he has it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *