Eternity Express – (self titled) – 1979

I must admit I knew nothing about Eternity Express before writing this review.

The album here is your typical late Jesus Music offering bridging into 80’s easy listening. It’s well produced and engineered and the band is pretty good at what they do.

But here’s the story on the band. The brother of evangelist Ken Gaub, Mike, joined up with Nathan and Dan Gaub to form a support band for Ken’s ministry. They had some erratic album releases and members came and went over the years.

In 2012 Dan Gaub appears to have committed suicide as he was being investigated by the FBI for securities fraud. It’s been alleged that he robbed investors of approximately 40 million dollars.

The band changed names in the late 80’s to “Illustrator” and released two albums under that name.

Track Listing:
1 – Reservation
2 – Turn Your Life Around
3 – Dream World
4 – Happy New Year
5 – Always There
6 – End Of The Line
7 – Shame
8 – Lost Love
9 – Stop Your Runnin’
10 – Never Alone
11 – Gotcha By My Side

Nathan Gaub – Vocal, Bass
Mike Gaub – Vocal, Drums
Dan Gaub – Guitar & Arranging

Solid Rock – Change of Heart – 1979

Solid Rock were better known for their two 80’s releases (though not that much more) than this 1979 release.

This album definitely has the feel of Jesus Music but was a little rockier than most Jesus Music. The band had 2 female singers at this point but it’s hard to differentiate between them.

Overall it’s a good album with a good 70’s hybrid Jesus Music/Rock style.

1 – He Is My Friend
2 – Make My Life
3 – Jesus Changed My Heart
4 – Watergrave
5 – Heaven Sent
6 – Running
7 – Saved To Serve
8 – You Can Fly
9 – Give Him Your Life

Sweet Comfort Band – Hold On Tight – 1979

The 3rd album from Sweet Comfort Band gave us more of what we heard in the first two.

They are joined on this album by Richie Furay who fits in perfectly with what is an easy listening album. Really, it’s just more of the same as previous releases and doesn’t really offer the listener much to get excited about.

The highlight of the album is the track Angel. It shows that these guys could have done a Rock & Roll album, but chose instead to take the safe sales route.

Track Listing:
1 – Hold On Tight 3:20
2 – Take It – Save It 3:17
3 – Falling Star 3:04
4 – You’re The One 3:10
5 – Angel 3:10
6 – Chasin’ The Wind 3:29
7 – Don’t Tell Me You Love Me 3:07
8 – Undecided 3:53
9 – Carry Me 4:39
10 – More Than You Need 4:32
11 – Find Your Way 4:09

Alto Saxophone, Soloist – David Hlebo (tracks: A4)
Arranged By [Horns] – Bob Wilson
Backing Vocals, Guitar [First Solo] – Richie Furay (tracks: B3)
Bass [Alembic Bass] – Kevin Thomson
Drums, Vocals – Rick Thomson
Engineer – Jack Joseph Puig
Finger Snaps – Jack Joseph Puig (tracks: A4)
Graphics [Sleeve Graphics] – Robin Hedrick
Guitar, Vocals – Randy Thomas
Horns – Seawind Horns
Keyboards, Vocals – Bryan Duncan
Mastered By – Steve Hall
Percussion – Alex MacDougall
Photography By – Alan Bergman
Producer, Keyboards [Additional], Backing Vocals, Programmed By [Synthesizer] – Tom Stipe
Strings – Sid Sharp and the L.A. Super Strings

Mark Heard – Appalachian Melody – 1979

This was Mark’s second album and his first on Solid Rock Records.

As is typical on Solid Rock albums the whole gang is on the album. I’ve always wondered why Larry felt the need to sing backup on every album (ok almost all) he produced, but I digress.

The album is a fairly light rock affair but Mark does get closer to the Rock and Roll rank on a few tunes. This is an album that will likely grow on you if a first listening doesn’t really capture you.

Track Listing:
1 – On The Radio – 3:38
2 – Castaway – 3:26
3 – Bless My Soul – 4:04
4 – Here I Am (Once Again) – 3:54
5 – With The Setting Sun – 1:42
6 – Appalachian Melody – 4:17
7 – Happy Cornbread Aniversary – 1:48
8 – Two Trusting Jesus – 4:13
9 – Jonah’s Song – 5:26
10 – Sidewalk Soliloquy – 3:18
11 – The Last Time – 3:16
12 – The Saints – 0:22

And here are the bonus tracks from the 2009 CD release:

Mark Heard – acoustic and electric guitars, piano, mandolin, hambone, vocals, harmonies, arranging, co-producer, mixing, photography, album artwork
Larry Norman – background vocals, producer, arranger, photography, album artwork
Randy Stonehill – background vocals
Tom Howard – Fender Rhodes, orchestration
Jon Linn – lead guitar
Flim Johnson – bass guitar
Peter Johnson – drums
Al Perkins – pedal steel guitar, dobro
Chuck Long – electric and acoustic guitars, additional photography
Alex MacDougall – percussion and congas
Janet Sue Heard – harmony, additional photography
Tom Howard String Ensemble conducted by Tom Howard

Resurrection Band – Rainbow’s End – 1979

Rainbow’s End is the second album by Resurrection Band that was released in 1979.

It continued the hard rock sound from their previous release. It includes “Afrikaans” which was one of the first anti-apartheid song of its time. This album was the end of Resurrection Band’s relationship with Star Song records.

Rumour has it that the record company found the bands hard rock sound too much for their label. Personally I doubt this as the album sold great and Star Song knew exactly who the were contracting with.

Track Listing:
1 – Midnight Son – 3:18
2 – Strongman – 3:14
3 – Afrikaans – 3:32
4 – Skyline – 3:06
5 – Paint A Picture – 4:48
6 – Rainbow’s End – 2:04
7 – Concert For A Queen – 3:02
8 – Sacrifice Of Love – 3:14
9 – The Wolfsong – 3:10
10 – Everytime It Rains – 4:46

Bass Guitar, Acoustic Guitar – Jim Denton
Drums – John Herrin
Electric Guitar, Piano, Organ, Synthesizer, Acoustic Guitar – Stu Heiss
Electric Guitar, Vocals – Glenn Kaiser
Engineer – Gary Loizzo, Roger Heiss, Stu Heiss
Harmonica – Tom Cameron
Mixed By – Resurrection Band, Stu Heiss
Percussion – Roger Heiss
Producer – Resurrection Band
Vocals – Wendi Kaiser

Randy Adams – Songs From Seven Years – 1979

Randy Adams is one of the originating members of Dallas Holm and Praise. He did however record this solo album while still with Dallas Holm and Praise.

Randy has gone on to have a very successful career as a sound engineer.

Track Listing:
1 – I Believe
2 – Just Like You
3 – Miracle In Me
4 – Just One Thing
5 – Apology
6 – Broken Man
7 – Count It All Joy
8 – Mary
9 – Psalm 30
10 – The Dream

Producers: Randy Adams, Wayne Donowho, Darrell A. Harris
Vocals: Randy Adams
Drums: Ric Norris, Carl Napoli
Percussion: Russell Dunlap
Piano: Tim Sheppard, Teresa Mauney, Rick Meilke, Tim Johnson
Organ: Paul Mills, Dr. Dan Williamson
Keyboards: Paul Mills
Synthesizer: Brian Tankersley
Guitar: John Davis, Randy Adams, Dave Marshall
Steel Guitar: Jimmy Powell
Mandolin: Dave Martini
Cello: Craig Weaver Oboe: Jay Volney
Harnonica: Kemper Crabb
Bass: Randy Adams
Flute & Recorder: Fletch Wiley
Handclaps: Wayne, Russell, Xen
Autoharp: Randy Adams
Background Vocals: The Bowen Sisters
Choral Vocals: Gigi Gresham, Audrey Adams, Kevin Snow, Mark Schulz, Pat Dorflinger, Erick Nelson, Michelle Pillar