Arlen Salte – Here I Stand – 1989

This is the third album from Canadian artist Arlen Salte. Again it appears that it was only released in Canada which absolutely astonishes me as it should have had a worldwide release it’s that good. This is another great Rock Pop album with tons of good catch lines and riffs. I have to admit that I just don’t understand how Arlen wasn’t widely known for his work. I hear music here that could have easily charted in secular radio if secular radio wasn’t terrified of Christian music in the day. Unfortunately I am unable to find a credits list for this album other than it was produced by Roy Salmond who produced so many great Canadian acts. Arlen’s credits are usually a who’s who of Canadian Christian artists and I’m sure it was the same for this album.

1 – Love Won’t Walk Away – 4:07
2 – Make No Mistake – 3:45
3 – Here I Stand – 2:50
4 – Strength To Be Weak – 4:00
5 – Heaven Is My Home – 4:33
6 – God Loves – 3:49
7 – Someone’s Waiting – 3:46
8 – Doctor Of My Soul – 3:42
9 – I Know – 4:49
10 – Two Thousand Years – 6:21
11 – Touch Our Hearts – 4:09

Arlen Salte – Great Big Noise – 1991

Arlen Salte is a fantastic Canadian artist. He took a break between albums and it worked well for him. This album is a great Rock/Pop album and Arlen’s ability of writing catch lines that you remember is he greatest musical skill. A quick listen to the opening of “Great Big Noise” will cause it stay with you for the better part of a week lol. If you’re tired of that one rattling around in your head try “Watch What You’re Doing” which is an excellent Larry Norman cover. That one will take a week to forget. I’m not too sure what the distribution numbers were on this album but if you haven’t heard it and you like Rock that pops, this is one you should listen to. Interestingly some other great Canadian artists helped out with backing vocals including, Carson Cole, Connie Scott, and Bob Hanson. The album was produced by Roy Salmond of Salmond & Mulder.

1 – I Don’t Want To Dance – 3:08
2 – She’s So Easy To Use – 3:06
3 – Another Heart Breaks – 4:24
4 – Take Me Through The Fire – 3:40
5 – What About You – 4:13
6 – Great Big Noise – 3:31
7 – Dancing While The House Is Burning – 4:08
8 – Second Wind – 4:15
9 – In The Power Of Love – 3:26
10 – Watch What You’re Doin’ – 5:19

Arranged By, Guitar, Backing Vocals, Lead Vocals – Arlen Salte
Backing Vocals – Carson Cole, Connie Scott, Joani Bye, Carson’s Friend John, Marc LaFrance, Peter Wisstoff Bass – Miles Hill Booking – Dorothy A. Hirch
Design [Cover Design] – Brian Ritchie (3)
Drums – Daryl Bennett
Engineer, Mixed By – Dave Slagter
Guitar – Dane DeViller, Scotti Hall*, Tim Olsen (5)
Mastered By – Tom Baker (3)
Organ, Backing Vocals – Richard Sera
Photography By [Band Shots] – Glenn Sitler
Piano – Dave Pickell
Producer, Arranged By, Engineer, Keyboards, Guitar, Backing Vocals – Roy Salmond

Companies, etc.
Distributed By – Word, Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Image 7 Records Inc
Copyright (c) – Image 7 Records Inc
Recorded At – Whitewater Productions, Richmond, B.C.
Recorded At – Mushroom Studios, Vancouver
Mixed At – Whitewater Productions, Richmond, B.C.
Mastered At – Future Disc
Manufactured By – Image 7 Music Inc.