Randall Waller – Midnight Fire – 1980

Everything that was wrong about the Christian Music industry in the early 80’s rears its ugly head on the classic gem that is a legitimate AYSO. Take an impressive rock vocalist (who would later form the band Avion) have him record killer rock and progressive rock songs but hide the guts in the mix, put the guy a late 70’s leisure suit and put seat him on a throw rug in front of a glowing fire. Ugh! What should have been the North American introduction of a great rocker in the vein of The Eagles “Long Run” ended up being a forgotten and overlooked cut out bin regular. Find this album and get it! There are no mediocre songs and, in fact, some amazing tunes throughout. One of the songs that Avion would later cover is a more commercial version of “I Need You,” a song that should have been a Christian Rock hit. The nearly 6 minute “Lady of the Night” is a rare progressive rock delight in CCM. Even the ballads on this release are worthy of consideration, especially the mid-tempo “Cry From an Absent Friend.” Waller would later appear as a guest vocalist on a David Zaffiro (Bloodgood) solo project.

Contributor David Lowman – https://ccms500bestalbums.wordpress.com/

1 – I Need You – 4:25
2 – Cry From An Absent Friend – 4:30
3 – Midnight Fire – 2:50
4 – Lady Of The Night – 5:48
5 – Mum ‘N’ The Kids – 4:06
6 – Always Waiting – 3:56
7 – Made For Me – 2:58
8 – Morning Star – 6:05

Co-producer, Guitar, Lead Vocals – Randall Waller
Engineer – Joe Bellamy
Engineer [Assistant] – Mark Heard, Tom Trafethan
Engineer [Assitant] – Gary Bonar, Hal Sacks
Mixed By – Joe Bellamy (tracks: 2-8), Tom Trafethan (tracks: 1)
Producer – Jon Linn

Companies, etc.
Published By – Gumnut Music

Please follow and like us:

Avion – Avion – 1983

Randall Waller released a couple solo albums before leading Avion. This great 80’s album has an excellent 80’s rock pop feel and had some secular success. The guitar work is strong and on some songs the album leans more to Rock. Avion was originally called Lionheart but changed names early in their run. The band had 2 studio albums and a live album. The band disbanded in 1987 after the untimely death of the keyboard player Evan Murray. Randall Waller has continued on to play with many big stars including, Keith Urban, Shania Twain, and Rose Tattoo. This is a great album that should have sold better but at least we can continue to enjoy it today.

1 – I Need You – 3:51
2 – Diamond Eyes – 4:17
3 – Lady Of The Night – 2:58
4 – We Can Try – 3:24
5 – Warrior – 4:34
6 – Never Let Me Go – 4:27
7 – Where Do We Go From Here – 3:40
8 – Always Waiting – 3:32
9 – Who’s Crying Now – 3:06
10 – Once Bitten, Twice Shy – 3:19

Bass, Backing Vocals – Kendall Waller
Drums, Backing Vocals – John Waller
Guitar – Martyn Toole
Keyboards – Evan Murray
Producer – Chris Gilbey
Vocals, Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar – Randall Waller

Please follow and like us: