Avion – Live – 1987

Avion Live is Sydney band Avion’s swansong independent release. The album was dedicated to the memory of the late Evan Murray, the band’s previous keyboard player who died in a motor vehicle accident. This album captures what they did best – performing their own particular brand of AOR live. The band’s last studio album, White Noise, features very strongly, as 7 of its tracks are performed live. Only 3 tracks from the band’s self-titled album are featured, which leaves the following 4 songs that, to my knowledge, have never been recorded – Long Night, Ransom, Money Or Love, and The Bigger You Are. On Being’s music editor, Vic Campbell, wrote: ‘These 14 tracks – five recorded in September ’86 at Sydney Entertainment Centre, the others at Selina’s in June ’87 – serve as a powerful reminder of this now-defunct Aussie band of talented rock ‘n’ roll Christians. Avion came so close to achieving widespread commercial success. This cassette-only release is a genuine collector’s item.’ (On Being, May 1989)

1 – Long Night – 3:34
2 – Where Do We Go From Here – 3:17
3 – In My Mind – 3:38
4 – Ships – 5:14
5 – Secrets – 4:06
6 – Warrior – 5:00
7 – Ransom – 4:09
8 – On And On – 5:06
9 – Money Or Love – 3:37
10 – Berlin Wall – 3:56
11 – Celebration – 4:17
12 – I Need You – 4:46
13 – The Bigger You Are – 4:15
14 – Never Too Late – 4:29

Bass, Vocals – Kendall Waller
Drums, Vocals – John Waller
Guitar, Vocals – Paul Gannell
Keyboards – Evan Murray
Lead Vocals, Guitar – Randall Waller
Producer, Engineer – John McConnell
Recorded By – Wyn Wynyard
Remix – John McConnell

Companies, etc.
Recorded At – Selina’s Nightclub
Recorded At – Sydney Entertainment Centre

Avion – White Noise – 1986

Apart from his excellent vocal contribution (as well as some guitaring) on David Zaffiro’s Surrender Absolute (1992) album, from Randall Waller’s second solo album, Midnight Fire, onwards his focus changed from the Christian music market to the mainstream music world. This is clearly evident on Avion’s well-produced second and last studio album, White Noise, released on the mainstream EMI label. Forming in 1981, Avion was an Australian band that was beset with hardship and tragedy of one kind and another. Even though they had a few appearances on Australia’s national music show Countdown, Australian rock historian Ian MacFarlane states that they were ‘met with virtual indifference at home’ (Encyclopedia of Australian Rock and Pop). The great singles the band released suffered from a lack of airplay. Apart from a loyal Sydney fan base, the band’s biggest supporters came from North America who appreciated the band’s melodic, American-influenced AOR. Band member and keyboardist, Evan Murray, died in a car accident in late ’87. The band called it a day soon after. The album contained the following 3 singles – We’ve Got Secrets (1985), Celebration (1986), and Berlin Wall (1987). Berlin Wall addresses the detrimental effect of the wall on the city’s residents that divided Berlin into East and West Berlin. The album has two relationship songs – Elle and Ships. Elle is about a couple where one member is pushing the relationship to the next level before the other member is ready for that level of commitment. Ships is about a song of unrequited love, using the saying ‘Ships passing in the night’ to great effect. One of my favourite tracks, Calm Before The Storm, has the strongest Christian connotations about heaven coming down to earth. The only change in personnel for this album was Paul Gannell who replaced Martyn Toole on guitar.

Contributor – Frank Axel Rasenberger

1 – Celebration – 4:05
2 – Berlin Wall – 3:35
3 – Elle – 3:56
4 – In My Mind – 3:33
5 – Ships – 4:45
6 – We’ve Got Secrets – 3:58
7 – Calm Before The Storm – 4:41
8 – The Next Big Thing – 3:24
9 – On & On – 4:50
10 – Never Too Late – 3:55

Bass, Backing Vocals – Kendall Waller
Drums, Backing Vocals – John Waller
Engineer – Peter Cobbin, Richard Lush
Engineer [Assisted By] – Tony Espie
Engineer [Assisted By], Mixed By [Assisted By] – Greg Henderson
Guitar, Backing Vocals – Paul Gannell
Lead Vocals, Guitar – Randall Waller
Mixed By – Clive Shakespeare, John Bee, Randall Waller, Spencer Lee
Piano, Synthesizer, Backing Vocals – Evan Murray
Producer – Clive Shakespeare), Peter Dawkins, Randall Waller
Producer, Engineer – Ross Cockle
Producer, Engineer, Mixed By – Peter Blyton
Producer, Mixed By – Avion

Companies, etc.
Recorded At – EMI Studios 301
Produced At – AAV
Engineered At – AAV
Mixed At – Albert Studios

Avion – Avion – 1983

A few decades before he would grace the stage nightly with country mega-star Shania Twain, guitarist and vocalist Randall Waller lead his band Avion with amazing guitars and vocals. The band would release two albums and Waller would release a solo project under the “Larry Norman Presents” banner on Tunesmith Records. In 1983 the band would release its first album on 1983 and despite great songs, top notch production and radio friendly image and music, the album just didn’t go anywhere. There are so many great songs here produced so incredibly well it becomes another one of those great frustrations in the music world. Several songs also appear on Waller’s “Midnight Fire.” Straight ahead early 80’s rock with a touch of southern rock thrown in for fans of the Eagles (Long Run), Aerosmith, Loverboy and 38 Special. I Need You, Lady of the Night and Always waiting are those that also appear on Waller’s solo album, but appear here with slightly different arrangements and significantly better production. “Once Bitten, Twice Shy” remains a favorite some 30 years later with it’s great rhythm guitar riff and sexy vocals. Waller commands the vocal stage so well it’s really amazing he never broke into the mainstream. The album can be a tough find but well worth the effort.

Contributor David Lowman – https://ccms500bestalbums.wordpress.com/

1 – I Need You – 3:51
2 – Diamond Eyes – 4:17
3 – Lady Of The Night – 2:58
4 – We Can Try – 3:24
5 – Warrior – 4:34
6 – Never Let Me Go – 4:27
7 – Where Do We Go From Here – 3:40
8 – Always Waiting – 3:32
9 – Who’s Crying Now – 3:06
10 – Once Bitten, Twice Shy – 3:19

Bass, Backing Vocals – Kendall Waller
Drums, Backing Vocals – John Waller
Guitar – Martyn Toole
Keyboards – Evan Murray
Producer – Chris Gilbey
Vocals, Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar – Randall Waller

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – RCA Records
Copyright (c) – RCA Inc.
Distributed By – RCA Inc.
Manufactured By – RCA Inc.