The Brave – Battle Cries – 1992

I really Can’t find much about The Brave other than they formed in 1991 in Lancaster, California. I do know that they came to the attention of John and Dino Elefante over at Pakaderm Records. This album is the result of their work together and what an album it is. I often struggle with the line between hard rock and metal and this album really dances that line for me. In the end I say it’s hard rock and is one of the best hard rock albums I’ve heard in CCM. The album has 10 solid rock tracks with two remixes thrown in as bonus material. Judging from the bonus tracks I am assuming they felt the singles were “All Together Now” and “Running All My Life”. Personally I think “Little Love” is the single of the album as the intro guitar rifts get you ready for a great song which doesn’t disappoint. All that said here’s the problem with the album. It was released in 1992 and that was right at the tail end of this style. After this much harder metal became more popular and this arena rock style just didn’t fit. Lucky for us it’s years later and we can just enjoy the album as a great hard rock album.

1 – All Together Now – 4:28
2 – The Waiting – 4:33
3 – If That Ain’t Love – 4:59
4 – Running All My Life – 4:45
5 – Tears Of A Broken Heart – 4:31
6 – Little Love – 4:27
7 – Never Live Without Your Love – 4:38
8 – Big World – 4:23
9 – Ride With The Rythm – 3:53
10 – Just A Man – 4:42
11 – All Together Now (Studio Mix) – 4:28
12 – Running All My Life (Studio Mix) – 4:44

Backing Vocals [Additional] – Doug Beiden, Jeff Gunn
Bass – Malcolm Paris
Design, Art Direction – Terry DeGraff
Drums – Randy Roberts
Drums [Additional], Percussion [Additional] – Dave Raven
Engineer – Dino Elefante, Doug Beiden, J.R. McNeely, John Elefante
Engineer [Assistant] – Chuck Swindoll Jr.
Guitar – Freddie Tierra, Stayce Roberts
Guitar [Additional], Bass [Additional] – J.R. McNeely
Guitar [Solo, Guest] – Tony Palacios
Lead Vocals – James Salters
Mastered By – Chris Bellman
Mixed By – Neil Kernon
Photography By – Patrick House
Producer – Dino Elefante, John Elefante
Vocals – Freddie Tierra, Malcolm Paris, Randy Roberts, Stayce Roberts
Written-By, Arranged By – Brandon Starr, Dino Elefante, Ian Sabretti, Jean-Luc Lajoie, John Elefante, The Brave

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright ℗ – Word, Inc.
Copyright © – Word, Inc.
Manufactured By – Word, Inc.
Distributed By – Word, Inc.
Distributed By – Word Communications Ltd.
Distributed By – Word (Uk) Ltd.
Pressed By – Denon Digital Industries
Recorded At – Pakaderm Studios
Mastered At – Bernie Grundman Mastering