The Echoing Green – Defend Your Joy – 1994

Named after a poem by William Blake, The Echoing Green is a pop/synth/techno band that made great inroads into the world of Christian dance music and electronica with a decidedly more commercial and pop approach. That to say that band leader Joey Belville knew how to write a pop song and infuse it with modern technology without losing the song amongst the computers and synthesizers. The genre has also been noted for highly sexual and depressing themes. But Belville was one of the most positive songwriters in any genre, heavily influenced by his faith and the joy it creates. The purpose of this album was a call for christian to defend the gift of joy they are given and to walk by the Spirit. These same theme repeat over and over on this wonderful project. I was a sales rep for Frontline/Diamante in the 90’s and for a short while they needed someone to cover the New Mexico area for the company. It was a quick flight from LA to Albuquerque, so I added it to my territory. My first appointment was with some kid named Joey who knew everything about Christian music. I remember pitching him this album and he lit up and ordered a truck load. He saw the shock on my face and started to laugh – something he often would do. Laugh that is. I did not know that he was the same Joey that is the Joey of The Echoing Green. He remained one of my favorite accounts not because of his music knowledge or large orders, but because Bevlille has an infectious and joyful personality and it clearly permeates the music he creates. Even the melodies are upbeat with a clearly positive feel. 2nd Chance deals with God’s grace and forgiveness despite our failings and our penchant for being the prodigal.. Defend Your Joy, a Depeche Mode like tune, is a call to Christians to stand up for truth and not to let the world take their joy away. Riki Michele makes an uncredited appearance on the chorus. In every cutting edge genre someone will come along and claim the mantle of taking it to the masses by making it more palatable and accessible. The Echoing Green does just that with this release as melody remains front and center and the song remains the key.

Contributor David Lowman –

1 – Ocean Chorus – 1:21
2 – 2nd Chance – 4:10
3 – Son In My Eyes – 4:21
4 – Terra Firma (Stand) – 4:56
5 – Enter Love – 4:18
6 – Defend Your Joy – 4:24
7 – Pray – 5:08
8 – Brand New Day – 3:29
9 – Arrival – 3:53
10 – Stay Awake – 4:21
11 – Deep Inside Your Heart (Remyx) – 4:34
12 – Terra Firma (Stand) (Remyx) – 6:17

Art Direction – MSB, Thom Roy Backing Vocals [Uncredited] – Riki Michele Cover, Illustration – Chris Howland, Kristy Anderberg Design – Kristy Anderberg Engineer – Drew Aldridge Executive-Producer – Michael Sean Black Mastered By – Doug Doyle Mixed By – Drew Aldridge (tracks: 1, 3 to 5, 10), MSB (tracks: 2, 6 to 9), Thom Roy (tracks: 2, 6 to 9)
Mixed By [Assistance] – Joey B* (tracks: 1, 3 to 5, 10)
Photography – David Dobson
Producer – Joey Belville, Ronnie Martin
Written-By – Joey Belville (tracks: 1 to 6, 8 to 12)

Companies, etc.
Mastered At – Digital Brothers
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Myx Records
Copyright (c) – Myx Records
Distributed By – Diamante Distribution
Pressed By – Disctronics USA – 128750

CD Case Front
CD Case Back
Inside 1
Inside 2

Various – Sweet Family Music – A Tribute To Stryper – 1996

This project appears to have been spearheaded by Alex Parker who owned Flying Tart Records. The publishing rights are held by Sweet Family Music which is in some way owned by Stryper themselves. It is a collection of alternate versions of Stryper songs by a variety of bands in 1996. At times the album almost seems to mock Stryper and if I was a Stryper member I don’t think I would have thought much of this album. The album also has NO flow and has a huge variation in style and quality. There’s Metal, Punk, Grunge, and even Techno sounds. Reading on the internet I see that this album was not well received by Stryper fans and quite frankly I can’t blame them. I’m not a huge Stryper fan but I have to sympathize with their fans. This album just really wasn’t that good an idea and the execution/quality just isn’t there. That said there are a couple of good tracks on the album but I’ll leave it to you to listen to it and pick them out.

1 – Cell Dweller – The Abyss – 2:01
2 – Steve Hindalong – To Hell With The Devil – 3:33
3 – Morella’s Forest – Calling On You – 4:14
4 – Klank – The Way – 3:51
5 – Cricket – Makes Me Wanna Sing – 3:03
6 – Havalina Rail Co. – Always There For You – 5:51
7 – Dinner Mint – All For One – 4:02
8 – Argyle Park – Lonely (Two-Timing Mix) – 5:08
9 – Grammatrain – More Than A Man – 4:45
10 – Combat Chuck – You Know What To Do – 3:20
11 – Ghoti Hook – First Love – 3:12
12 – Echoing Green – You Won’t Be Lonely – 3:42
13 – The Blamed – Soldiers Under Command – 5:26
14 – Aleixa – Makes Me Wanna… – 3:37
15 – Joe Christmas – (Waiting For) A Love That’s Real – 3:53
16 – Fluffy Featuring Ralph Melish – Honestly – 5:23
17 – Marriage Is Madness – Free – 3:50
18 – Unknown Artist – Outro – 0:39

Concept By [Conceived By], Compiled By – Alex Parker
Design Concept [Cover And Artwork Concept] – Alex Parker
Executive-Producer [Of Sorts] – Alex Parker
Layout, Design – Craig A. Mason
Mastered By – Buddy Miller

Companies, etc.
Recorded At – Circle Studio
Mixed At – Circle Studio
Recorded At – Broadway Production Studios
Recorded At – Assembly Line Studios
Recorded At – Secret Studios
Mixed At – Secret Studios
Published By – Sweet Family Music
Published By – Stryper Music
Published By – Amgine Music
Published By – Sir Oz Music
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Flying Tart Records
Copyright (c) – Flying Tart Records
Manufactured By – Liquid Disc Records
Distributed By – Liquid Disc Records
Pressed By – Disctronics USA – 139326

CD Case Front
CD Case Back
Inside 1
Inside 2
Inside 3
Inside 4
Inside 5
Inside 6
Inside 7
Inside 8