David Zaffiro – Surrender Absolute – 1992

This is David’s third solo album and he is still mellowing out at this point but not in a bad way. Yes I generally lean towards liking harder Rock album but this is a great album. It’s a solid Pop album that some say is AOR but it leans Pop for me. The album has 3 acoustic tracks which I think are really well done. While they aren’t really my style they are very well done and we can really appreciate David’s vocals on these tracks. Interestingly Aussie Randall Waller stepped in and assisted David with the production on the album.

1 – Find My Way – 4:03
2 – To The Heavens – 4:15
3 – Carousel – 4:14
4 – Silas And Serai – 5:15
5 – In A Box – 4:05
6 – Attitude – 3:56
7 – Calling Out To Me – 4:47
8 – Surrender Absolute – 3:56
9 – Every Little Thing – 4:17
10 – No Long Goodbyes – 4:58

Art Direction, Design – Brian Godawa
Co-producer [Production Assistance], Engineer [Assistant] – Randall Waller
Engineer – David Zaffiro
Executive-Producer, A&R – Matthew Duffy
Mastered By – Ron McMaster
Photography By – Joe Potter, Mark Wilkins, Susan Waller
Producer – David Zaffiro

Companies, etc.
Recorded At – Glasshouse
Mixed At – Glasshouse
Mastered At – Tower Mastering
Mastered At – Capitol Studios
Produced For – Zaffiro Productions
Phonographic Copyright ℗ – Frontline Records
Copyright © – Frontline Records
Distributed By – FMG Distribution
Copyright © – Broken Songs
Glass Mastered At – Nimbus, Virginia

In Reach – Waterline – 1992

Brett Williams formed The Reach in 1984 and yo have to respect his dedication as the band didn’t get a record deal until 1992. In 1989 they had an independent release, “Under The Same Sky” using the band name The Reach. I haven’t had a chance to hear it yet but I’m looking forward to it. One of my compliments for the band is that even though they formed in the 80’s this is a purely 90’s album. It’s always great to see a band that even though they were unsigned they continued to evolve and move their music forward. David Zaffiro (Bloodgood) stepped in to produce the album and even played guitar on a few tracks. The album is very well produced and quite frankly is as good as anything that was being released in the secular market at the time. The album is a guitar oriented Pop album that is very easy to listen to and if you missed this one it’s worth a listen. The title track is good enough that it’s going in my personal regular rotation.

1 – Waterline – 4:33
2 – Faded Love – 3:58
3 – My Heart – 3:14
4 – The Other Fall Of Cambrai – 3:24
5 – God You Are – 4:00
6 – River – 4:08
7 – Giving Me Reasons – 3:33
8 – In The In Between – 3:32
9 – Manner Of Man – 3:05
10 – Not So Easy – 3:41

Art Direction, Design – Dale Wéhlacz
Backing Vocals [Background Vocals] – Marlene Cochran
Bass Guitar, Backing Vocals [Background Vocals] – Scott Burell
Creative Director – Tony Thigpen
Drums – Vince Grant
Engineer – David Dysart
Executive-Producer – Dez Dickerson
Guitar – Charles Mesrole, David Zaffiro
Guitar, Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals [Background Vocals] – Brett Williams
Keyboards – Mike Bell
Mastered By – Denny Purcell
Mixed By – Charles Mesrole, Chris Fuhrman, David Zaffiro
Mixed By [Mix Assistent] – David Raneses, Eric Janko
Photography – Karen Moskowitz
Producer, Engineer – Charles Mesrole, David Zaffiro
Sequenced By – Scott Weiss

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Star Song
Copyright (c) – Star Song
Recorded At – Triad Studios
Overdubbed At – Extra Sensory Productions
Mastered At – Georgetown Masters
Mixed At – Klub Key’s

CD Case Front
CD Case Back

David Zaffiro – In Scarlet Storm – 1990

Ex Bloodgood guitarist David Zaffiro is back wit his second solo album. I think he and Frontline were able to build on the first album and I feel this album is even better produced. Though David is best known for being a Metal guitarist this album leans more Rock than Metal though there is always a hint of David’s Metal past. Some do classify this album as Metal but it leans more Rock to me. What really surprised me about this album was David’s keyboard skills. Several tracks have a opening keyboard riff that set the feel for the track and that said there is strong keyboards on this album but it works with it’s Rock sound. This album is an excellent display of David’s musical skills and how diverse they are.

1 – Through His Eyes – 4:23
2 – Holding Fast – 4:07
3 – He’s Lying To Ya – 3:45
4 – In Scarlet Storm – 4:14
5 – I Wait Alone – 3:55
6 – Let It Go – 4:38
7 – Blue Ice – 4:22
8 – The Song – 3:40
9 – I Give This Life To You – 4:12

Art Direction – Ed McTaggart
Backing Vocals [Background Singers] – Eric Beaver
Backing Vocals [Background Singers], Drums – Joe Pollastrini
Engineer – Charles Meserole, Dave Van Liew
Illustration – Jeff Foster
Layout – Joe Potter
Lead Vocals – Eric Beaver, Joe Pollastrini
Mastered By – John Matousek
Mixed By – Dave Jahnsen
Producer [Additional Vocal Production], Engineer, Backing Vocals [Background Singers] – Doug Beiden
Producer, Engineer, Backing Vocals [Background Singers], Bass, Keyboards – Maverick Gibson
Producer, Guitar, Lead Vocals, Engineer, Bass, Keyboards – David Zaffiro
Vocals [Argument Singers] – Eric Beaver, Lary Melby
Written-By – Charles Meserole, David Zaffiro, Maverick Gibson

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Intense Records
Copyright (c) – Intense Records
Produced For – Zaffiro Productions
Glass Mastered At – Nimbus, Virginia
Recorded At – Full Voice Audio
Recorded At – Neverland Studios
Mixed At – Mixing Lab A
Mastered At – Soundworks West
Published By – Broken Songs

CD Case Front
CD Case Back
Inside 1
Inside 2
Inside 3

David Zaffiro – The Other Side – 1989

Guitarist David Zaffiro left Bloodgood to do his own thing here. The album definitely has it’s own feel and it shouldn’t be mistaken for Bloodgood. The guitar riffs sound similar in places but it looks like David had his own sound that he wanted to get out to the public. Michael Bloodgood does help out on a couple tracks so it’s nice to see that David leaving Bloodgood wasn’t in bad blood. My only fault on the album is that there should have been a few more rockin tracks and a few less ballads but that said they are very well done and I would have been hard pressed to pick ones to delete. So to sum up this is a good rockin album and I look forward to listening to David’s next album.

1 – Stay – 4:00
2 – I See Red – 3:22
3 – Where Are You Now – 3:36
4 – Why Me – 3:58
5 – The Other Side – 6:18
6 – Diversity – 4:42
7 – You – 3:11
8 – To The End – 4:27
9 – Only Eyes – 3:39
10 – Spirit Of The Lord – 4:50

Art Direction – Ed McTaggart
Assemblage – Jason Brown
Backing Vocals [Background Vocals] – Charlene Nemieyer, David Schueler, Marlene Cochran, Paula Prince, Richard Bartholomew
Bass Guitar – Bill Hale (4), Mark Mosholder (tracks: 2)
Co-producer [On Lead Vocals] – Michael Bloodgood (tracks: 2, 10)
Drums – Davin McLaird
Engineer – Charles Meserole
Keyboards – David Hubbard (tracks: 10), Kelly Carpenter
Lead Vocals, Guitar, Producer, Engineer, Written-By – David Zaffiro
Photography By – Mark Wilkins
Rhythm Guitar – Maverick Gibson (tracks: 1)
Written-By, Co-producer [On Lead Vocals] – Maverick Gibson (tracks: 1,8)

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Alarma Records
Copyright (c) – Alarma Records
Mastered At – Hitsville
Distributed By – The Benson Company
Published By – Broken Songs
Glass Mastered At – Nimbus, Virginia

CD Case Front
CD Case back

Inside 1
Inside 2
Inside 3