Jamboree – Melt Down – 1985

Before there was Hoi Polloi there was Jamboree which was a version of the band without Jenny. Otherwise looks identical with future Hoi Polloi producer Dave Steunebrink standing in on guitar. Only one of these tracks would get the Jenny treatment, Spin Me showed up in 1993 as the title track of the same name album. The rest of the tracks were lost to time which is a pity because these tracks are really good. In fact as a whole I preferred this sound than their Hoi Polli sound but I was heavily into this style of Alternative New Wave in the 80’s and their sound with Jenny not so much. Anyway this self released EP was only around in New Zealand so you probably never heard it but here it is.

1 – Melt Down – 3:47
2 – A Familiar Quietness – 3:35
3 – Cold – 3:57
4 – Out Of Season – 4:47
5 – Spin Me – 4:41

Bass – Andrew Horst
Drums – Jozsef Fityus
Guitar – Dave Steunebrink
Guitar, Keyboards – David Ball
Producer, Engineer – Phil Yule
Vocals – Brent Tasker

Companies, etc.
Recorded At – Mascot Studios

Hoi Polloi – Satisfy – 1990

Hoi Polloi was formed in New Zealand by Jenny Gullen, her husband, Andrew Horst, David Ball and Jozsef Fityus. This is their first demo recording and it likely propelled their career in the CCM industry. The Demo is fantastic and very very well produced by Tim Foreman at Airforce Recording Studio in Auckland NZ. The demo led to the band getting an invitation to Cornerstone and a 2 record deal from Reunion Records. All but one of the tracks on this album were rerecorded and released on the bands first album and the one remaining track showed up on their second album. The album has a great alternative sound and one can’t help but make a comparison to Lone Justice but with much less cow influence. The vocals are strong and the instruments are tight. This is probably one of the best produced demo’s I’ve ever heard. Definitely top 10.

1 – Rest Tonite – 3:22
2 – Rain – 4:05
3 – Love Shine Down – 3:14
4 – Satisfy – 4:13
5 – The Other Name – 4:23
6 – Come To Me – 4:09

Jenny Gullen – Lead vocals, acoustic guitar
David Ball – Lead guitar, rhythm guitar, keyboards
Andrew Horst – Bass, backing vocals, acoustic guitar
Jozsef Fityus – Drums
Jasmine Kemp – Background vocals on “Satisfy”
Dave Henderson – Background vocals on “Satisfy”
Youth Renewal Singers – Background vocals on “Rest Tonight”
Guy Wishart – Acoustic guitar on “Satisfy”
Jeff Tribe – Trumpet
Peter Slainey – Saxophone
Dave Parry – Keyboards on “Love Shine Down”