Messiah – Final Warning – 1984

This 1984 album is another example of early Christian metal. At the time the genre was still being downplayed by record companies and distributors. Because of this the vinyl version of this album is highly sought after due to it’s very short run. It is rumoured that the vinyl run was limited to 1000 copies so they can command up to $1000 now. Luckily Retroactive Records re-released the album on CD in 2010 so you can get a copy more easily. This was Messiah’s first official studio release though there had been demo’s. This is a true metal album and in my opinion was ahead of its time. While not my style this is a great band that knew what they were doing. The production on the album was a little weak but in a way that makes it sound even better.

1 – Who’s To Blame – 3:02
2 – Outta Control – 4:25
3 – Where Are You – 4:03
4 – The Choice – 3:37
5 – Heavenly Metal – 5:42
6 – Mistaken Identity – 4:50
7 – Keep Searching – 4:17
8 – Lucifer – 6:04
9 – Final Warning – 5:46

Bass – Pete Smoltz
Cover, Artwork, Layout, Illustration – Mike Demske
Engineer – George Hellow
Engineer [Assistant] – Chuck Reynolds
Keyboards – Dan Knowles
Lead Guitar, Acoustic Guitar – Scott Wood
Lead Vocals – Chuck Gugel
Management – Nutcracker Productions Co. Inc.
Percussion – Keith Behnke
Producer – Chuck Gugel, Scott Wood
Written-By – Chuck Gugel, Mike Lopez (tracks: B3, B4), Pete Smoltz (tracks: A2, A5), Scott Wood (tracks: A1 to B2)

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Viniculum Music Publishing Inc.
Copyright (c) – Viniculum Music Publishing Inc.
Distributed By – Nutcracker Productions Co. Inc.
Produced For – IHM Records
Recorded At – Polaris Recording Studios

Messiah – Going Insane – 1985

Some say that Messiah were the first Christian metal band. I can’t decide this argument as I just don’t have the knowledge of the genre to be sure but they have to be one of the first as they put out their first Demo in 1979. Their first release “Final Waning” in 1984 was a very short run release and this 1985 EP was also a very limited run release. Lucky for us Retroactive Records stepped up in 2010 and re-released this EP so that we could all enjoy it. They also included 3 tracks from the infamous 1979 demo. I have included them here. Too bad these guys are relatively unknown as there is some real quality metal here.

1 – Going Insane – 6:30
2 – We Will Rock – 3:57
3 – Heavenly Metal – 5:27
4 – Where Are You – 4:09
5 – Evil Lies – 5:00
6 – Lucifer (Demo) – 6:34
7 – Final Warning (Demo) – 7:07
8 – You’d Better Say A Prayer (Demo) – 6:03

Bass Guitar – Dave Johnson
Cover, Artwork – P. Schmoltz
Drums – Keith Behnke
Guitar – J. S. Wood
Keyboards, Harmony Vocals – Dan Knowles
Lead Vocals – Chuck Gugel

Companies, etc.
Copyright (c) – IHM Records
Phonographic Copyright (p) – IHM Records
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Viniculum Music Publishing Inc.
Record Company – Shepard Productions
Recorded At – The Disc Ltd.