Don Francisco – The Traveler – 1981

Don Francisco was one of the most dependable musicians in the CCM genre. His fans were given a regular diet of new albums almost every year from 1979 to 1994. The Traveler was his 1981 offering and it was well received. It had the sound we have grown use to from Don. His folk style was a standout in Christian music. This album isn’t that sit in the park with an acoustic guitar kind of folk but instead a more pop oriented folk. The album didn’t stand out to me but it is a good album from a respected artist.

1 – Too Small A Price / Joy – 5:55
2 – Since I Met Him – 3:57
3 – The Lord & I Together – 2:45
4 – Beautiful To Me – 4:39
5 – If You Ain’t Gonna Sing The Gospel – 4:27
6 – Messengers From Heaven – 4:15
7 – The Package – 4:06
8 – You Can’t Take It With You – 3:13
9 – Give Your Heart A Home – 4:38
10 – The Traveler / Joy – 5:12

Design, Photography By – Bill Barnes
Engineer – Gene Eichelberger, Jim Cotton, Noah White
Engineer [Assistant] – Barry Baily, Chuck Ainley, Gerry Lentz, Jim Baird, Jon Putnam, Pat Holt, Quitman Dennis
Illustration – Randy Martin
Mastered By – Glen Meadows
Photography By – Matt Barnes
Producer, Arranged By [Strings] – Shane Keister
Written-By – Don Francisco, Gary McSpadden (tracks: B3), Gloria Gaither (tracks: B4), Bill Gaither (tracks: B4)

Please follow and like us:

Author: Ray Mansfield

One of the founding cowboys of Real 80s CCM. Been listening to this stuff since 1978.

One thought on “Don Francisco – The Traveler – 1981”

  1. An interesting bit of trivia: The first track on this album is tied to the last track of the previous album, “Got To Tell Somebody.” The last track of GTTS, “Too Small a Price,” is about the repentant thief on the cross beside Jesus. It ends with an instrumental coda which is the same as the beginning of the first track here. From that one concludes that the soul entering Paradise in this first track is that of the repentant thief.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *