Angelica – Time Is All It Takes – 1992

Dennis Cameron is back with Drew Baca on lead vocals with Angelica’s third and last studio album. This album definitely has a different vibe than their other ones. Many reviewers say it has a funk feel but I just think it concentrates a lot more on acoustic guitar work. While I’m in the minority I actually think this might be their best work. I actually really liked this album which is rare for me of a Metal album. This album was released in the US and Canada as Angelica but it was released as a Dennis Cameron album in Japan. Considering he did all the work but lead vocals I guess I can see why but I suspect it was more likely due to some oddball legal issue.

1 – Gotta Get Ready – 3:55
2 – Running Wild – 4:40
3 – Second Chance – 5:03
4 – I Can Hardly Wait to See – 4:19
5 – Open Your Mind – 3:48
6 – Don’t Stop – 4:04
7 – Time is All it Takes – 3:37
8 – Carry Me – 3:56

Backing Vocals – Daniel Ysais
Guitar [Guitars], Lead Vocals – Dennis Cameron
Lead Vocals – Drew Baca
Producer – Dennis Cameron
Written-By – Dennis Cameron

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright ℗ – Intense Records
Copyright © – Intense Records
Published By – Broken Songs
Distributed By – FMG Distribution
Glass Mastered At – Nimbus

Angelica – Rock, Stock & Barrel – 1991

This is probably the first and maybe the only Christian album better known for a music video than the album itself. The band put together a music video for the single “Cover Me” and it was probably the best Christian music video up to the point. At least that’s what their fans said. I watched it and it’s definitely good for the genre but I certainly don’t believe it was all that great. Anyway this was their 3rd album and their best up to this point. It also strangely had yet a different vocalist than their previous 2. Three albums with 3 different vocalists was certainly something a little different. The album toned down the metal a little bit which probably helped it reach a wider audience. Strangely the band added a metal version of the Canadian national anthem on the end of the album. As they were Canadian this wasn’t overly surprising but personally I found it a bit pointless.

1 – The Fire Inside – 4:23
2 – Someone To Believe In Me – 4:46
3 – Cover Me – 4:54
4 – Home Sweet Heaven – 4:55
5 – A Little Love – 3:57
6 – Sail Away – 4:11
7 – Keep Pushin’ On – 4:46
8 – Bumble Boob Groove – 1:52
9 – Rhyme & Reason – 3:52
10 – Without Words – 4:26
11 – Oh Canada – 1:46

Art Direction – Ed McTaggart
Bass, Backing Vocals [BGV’s] – Robert Pallen
Co-producer – Daro
Design – Joe Potter
Drums – Bobby Lawrence
Engineer – Daryl Wickes, Dennis Cameron, Doug Drury, Scott Seehawer
Guitar, Backing Vocals [BGV’s] – Dennis Cameron
Illustration – Steve Firchow
Keyboards – Christophe Marchand, Daro
Lead Vocals – Drew Baca
Liner Notes – Marie Nishimori
Management [Japan Representation] – MJM Artists
Mixed By – Daryl Wickes
Other [Hair By] – Peter McLaren
Photography By [Photos] – Gary Sweetman
Producer – Dennis Cameron
Words By, Music By – Dennis Cameron

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright ℗ – Intense Records
Copyright © – Intense Records
Licensed From – MJM Entertainment Group Inc.
Manufactured By – Pony Canyon Inc.
Recorded At – Charico Studios
Published By – Broken Songs

Angelica – Walkin’ In Faith – 1990

The second album from Angelica was very well received. Surfing around the Internet I found many glowing reviews. When I listened to the album I found it to be excellent. This album was easily as good as anything on the radio in the late 80’s. The lineup for this album did change up a bit with vocals now handled by Jerome Mazza. Quite frankly he nailed this album, actually the whole band did. The production is excellent which kind of surprised me as it was produced by band member Dennis Cameron. In my opinion when bands self produce their album it has a good chance of being a disaster but occasionally an album proves me wrong and this is one of those albums. Cameron produced, mixed, played guitar, played drums, and provided background vocals. This is quite the workload. Anyway this is a great Metal album with a couple tunes that lean more Hard Rock. Not my preferred style of music I admit but I quite liked this album.

1 – Walkin’ In Faith – 4:42
2 – Hold On – 4:28
3 – All I Can Do – 4:50
4 – Soul Search – 4:13
5 – Time And Time Again – 4:14
6 – Sing And Shout – 4:25
7 – Set Me Free – 4:35
8 – Not Too Late – 5:20
9 – Bring Into Being – 4:41
10 – Harvest – 3:24

Art Direction – Ed McTaggart
Bass Guitar, Backing Vocals – Robert Pallen
Co-producer – Daryl Wicker
Engineer – Daryl Wicker
Guitar, Drum Programming, Backing Vocals – Dennis Cameron
Illustration [Cover] – Jeff Foster
Keyboards – Daryl Wicker (tracks: A2 to A4, B1 to B5), Dennis Cameron (tracks: A1, A5)
Layout – Joe Potter
Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals – Jerome Mazza
Mastered By – John Matousek
Mixed By – Daryl Wicker, Dennis Cameron, Scott Seehower
Producer – Dennis Cameron
Written-By, Composed By, Arranged By – Dennis Cameron

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Intense Records
Copyright (c) – Intense Records
Distributed By – Word (UK) Ltd.
Recorded At – GCC Production House
Mastered At – Soundworks West

Angelica – Angelica – 1986

Guitarist Dennis Cameron from Ontario had a choice early in his career. He could join Holy Soldier, or Bloodgood, or go his own way. He chose to go his own way and this is the result. It is the first of four albums he made as Angelica and most consider this to be the best one. Now for the strange story of this album. Cameron had chose Andy Lyon as the vocalist but something went wrong and Andy left very early in the sessions. Now he was faced with finding a replacement and of the people offered to him by the studio one was Bob Rock. I think it goes without saying that Bob was chose pretty quickly as even at the time he was already legendary. The album is a mix of light metal and arena rock and does what it does well. As I said earlier most consider this to be Angelica’s best album, and in my opinion it’s in no small part because of the vocals of Bob Rock. Bob did not go on to work on the next or subsequent albums.

1 – There’s Only One Hero – 4:05
2 – Are You Satisfied – 3:30
3 – I Believe – 3:45
4 – Danger Zone – 3:42
5 – Shine On Me – 3:05
6 – Only A Man – 3:40
7 – One Step At A Time – 3:31
8 – Will I Ever Learn – 3:20
9 – Take Me – 3:32
10 – Ahh! – 3:00
11 – S.O.S. – 3:50
12 – Face To Face – 3:23

Art Direction – Ed McTaggart
Backing Vocals – Ken Tamplin
Bass – Robert Pallen
Drums – Scott Ernest
Engineer – Dave Jahnsen, Eric Kibby
Guitar – Dennis Cameron
Illustration – Jeff Foster
Keyboards – Marc Hugenburger
Photography By – Michael Seeley
Producer – Dennis Cameron
Vocals – Andy Lyon (barely)
Vocals – Bob Rock (uncredited)