Armada – All Four One – 1986

Armada was/is a hard rock band out of Michigan. They formed in 1975 under the name Archangel and also appear to have used the name Prophet Song before settling on Armada. This was their demo and was sold in cassette form at their concerts. It is a fantastic hard rock album. If you read my reviews you know that often I am critical of self produced albums/demos. Not on this one though. The production isn’t super polished, but that’s a good thing. This is a raw Rock & Roll band and this demo captures that sound perfectly. They have re-released this album on CD but this is a copy of the cassette reworked as best I could. I see that they are occasionally referred to as a Metal band but they aren’t really and as I said this is good old Rock & Roll album. I think the lead track could have singled on secular radio, but of course it wouldn’t have due to the usual religious paranoia of radio at the time.

1 – Let God’s People Go
2 – Witness
3 – Turn Around
4 – Streetwise
5 – Rock’n
6 – Shelter
7 – You’d Better Believe It
8 – Cutting It Close
9 – Turning Point

Lead Vocals – Rick Ledesma
Lead & Rhythm Guitars – Dave Dawdy
Bass Guitar – Randy Carlson
Drums, Lead Vocals – John Heald
Produced, Engineered, Mixed – Mark Miller

Various – Underground Metal 1 – 1988

Regency Records released this Metal sampler in 1988. It featured some lesser known Metal artists of the time. Most of the songs were available on the artists respective albums. However the Chosen Stranger song is unreleased. The Torn Flesh song was only available on a difficult to find demo. The Paragon track was only released on the Paragon Just Believe Demo. The Mercy Rule track is unreleased. If you are a Metal fan of the time this is an important album due to these tracks.

1 – Bjorn Stiggson – Come On – 5:28
2 – Armada – But It’s Only Rock And Roll – 3:42
3 – Chosen Stranger – So Glad – 4:33
4 – Paradox – Ruler 3:28
5 – Torn Flesh – No Surfin’ In Hell – 4:18
6 – Watchmen – Fear No Evil – 4:55
7 – Chariot – Step Into The Light – 3:34
8 – Paragon – Why Are There So Many Sinners – 5:24
9 – Mercy Rule – Cities Are Burning – 4:04

Originating Album
Bjorn Stiggson – Come On – (Together With Friends)
Armada – But It’s Only Rock And Roll (Frontline)
Chosen Stranger – So Glad (Unreleased)
Paradox – Ruler (Paradox – Ruler)
Torn Flesh – No Surfin’ In Hell (Love Kills Demo)
Watchmen – Fear No Evil (Fear No Evil)
Chariot – Step Into The Light (Step Into Light)
Paragon – Why Are There So Many Sinners (Just Believe Demo)
Mercy Rule – Cities Are Burning (Unreleased)

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Regency Records
Copyright (c) – Regency Records
Mastered At – Capitol Mastering

Executive-Producer – David Malme, John Moore
Illustration – Greg Zook