Various – Underground Metal 1 – 1988

Regency Records released this Metal sampler in 1988. It featured some lesser known Metal artists of the time. Most of the songs were available on the artists respective albums. However the Chosen Stranger song is unreleased. The Torn Flesh song was only available on a difficult to find demo. The Paragon track was only released on the Paragon Just Believe Demo. The Mercy Rule track is unreleased. If you are a Metal fan of the time this is an important album due to these tracks.

1 – Bjorn Stiggson – Come On – 5:28
2 – Armada – But It’s Only Rock And Roll – 3:42
3 – Chosen Stranger – So Glad – 4:33
4 – Paradox – Ruler 3:28
5 – Torn Flesh – No Surfin’ In Hell – 4:18
6 – Watchmen – Fear No Evil – 4:55
7 – Chariot – Step Into The Light – 3:34
8 – Paragon – Why Are There So Many Sinners – 5:24
9 – Mercy Rule – Cities Are Burning – 4:04

Originating Album
Bjorn Stiggson – Come On – (Together With Friends)
Armada – But It’s Only Rock And Roll (Frontline)
Chosen Stranger – So Glad (Unreleased)
Paradox – Ruler (Paradox – Ruler)
Torn Flesh – No Surfin’ In Hell (Love Kills Demo)
Watchmen – Fear No Evil (Fear No Evil)
Chariot – Step Into The Light (Step Into Light)
Paragon – Why Are There So Many Sinners (Just Believe Demo)
Mercy Rule – Cities Are Burning (Unreleased)

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Regency Records
Copyright (c) – Regency Records
Mastered At – Capitol Mastering

Executive-Producer – David Malme, John Moore
Illustration – Greg Zook

Torn Flesh – Crux Of The Mosh – 1989

Torn Flesh was a thrash metal band out of Chesapeake, Ohio. I searched my memory banks and can say this is the only band I have ever heard of from there secular or Christian. The members of this band had started an organization called “Psalms 150 Ministry” and were ministered on the streets of Huntington, WV (Just across the river from Chesapeake) and were getting a lot of recognition for their successful efforts. At some point they decided that starting a thrash metal band would be a great help in their proselytizing. This album was a result of that effort. The album had some success, but it appears not enough for a second album.

1 – Torn Flesh (Crux Of The Mosh)
2 – End The Fight
3 – World Pollution
4 – Dead To The World
5 – Fire Escape
6 – Happy Birthday
7 – Kill The Dead
8 – Gay Rights?
9 – Man’s Best Friend
10 – Innocent Eyes
11 – Hollywood Heaven
12 – The Ultimate Finale

Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Narrowpath Records
Copyright (c) – Narrowpath Records
Distributed By – Pure Metal

Bass – Mike Holbroo
Drums – Jim Brown
Guitar – Aaron Brown, Jason Matthews
Vocals – Greg Hudson